Do current cell phones have Java support?

disappoint

Lifer
Dec 7, 2009
Sorry for the noob question but I play games on pogo.com sometimes on my desktop PC and I'd like to get a cell phone that can play on that site. I don't own a cell phone with data service yet. So can the Droid, Iphone or Nexus display java apps?

dFshadow

Dec 16, 2009
i'm not an expert but i don't think the browsers have java support yet - none of them.

many phones have java environments that you can run java apps in though

Rottie

Diamond Member
Feb 10, 2002
all version of iPhones does not have a Java support :( it is not going happen in the future as Steve Job think Java is useless with iPhone.

olds

Elite Member
Mar 3, 2000
How about flash?
I assume you need something that that to watch hulu?

Fear No Evil

Diamond Member
Nov 14, 2008
Flash is coming to WebOS, Droid, and others.. not iPhone though it sounds like.. at least not soon. Some are speculating Palm will introduce Flash on WebOS within the next week or so before CES.. I doubt it though.. but Adobe did make it sound like WebOS would be one of, if not the first handset to get full flash support.

Pliablemoose

Lifer
Oct 11, 1999
One of the reasons they don't want flash apps in the App Store is that it'd be easier to port games to other platforms...

QueBert

Lifer
Jan 6, 2002
Apple and Steve Job are so selfish.

Flash runs like crap on OSX, since an iPhone is basically OSX on a platform with a much weaker processor. I don't think selfishness is the reason. Flash on an iPhone would suck, Jobs knows this so as of now there's no Flash. No Flash is better IMHO than Flash that runs so damn slow it's not even useful.

Munky

Diamond Member
Feb 5, 2005