Do Class D amplifiers sound a lot better than Class AB Amps?

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Howard

Lifer
Oct 14, 1999
I don't think you understand me. I am saying that you can build a Class D amp that produces negligible EMI/RFI at little extra cost (perhaps none; I am not a amp designer) versus a Class D amp that floods the vicinity with noise. What the amp actually gets sold for has little to do with that.

Fallen Kell

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
I don't think you understand me. I am saying that you can build a Class D amp that produces negligible EMI/RFI at little extra cost (perhaps none; I am not a amp designer) versus a Class D amp that floods the vicinity with noise. What the amp actually gets sold for has little to do with that.

Correct. The companies use it more as a way to have different tiers of product, allowing them to have something that has a 20-30% profit margin (or more) on the "high-end" product. The "low end" one is to get market penetration with only minimal profit. It is all about the money guys, just remember that.

Modelworks

Lifer
Feb 22, 2007

It actually doesn't cost any extra in parts , it does cost more in design time depending on the application. A lot of it is just in how the pcb traces are routed. A good design will make heavy use of ground planes and avoiding long straight traces that might work like an antenna to transmit the RF. I have a class D amp made by insignia (best buy cheap as they can find to make it brand), and setting it on my workbench , without the cover on it, and operating it, my scope doesn't pick up anything when the probes are near.