Do any SSD's come pre-formatted or did I just get a used drive?

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by artvscommerce, Jan 14, 2011.

  1. artvscommerce

    artvscommerce Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just came back from microcenter with their branded 64GB sandforce2 SSD. I put it on a test bench and I found that it was already formatted with a NTFS file system. I have never heard of a drive coming pre-formatted but I don't have much experience with SSD's. Has anyone else had one come like this or is it possible this was a customer return that I ended up with? Input is much appreciated!


    Here is the product link...
    http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0351760
     
  2. her209

    her209 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    56,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I received my Intel X25-M, it wasn't pre-formatted.
     
  3. InfoTiger

    InfoTiger Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does any SSD tools tell you the usage of the drive?
     
  4. artvscommerce

    artvscommerce Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will take a look. That is a great suggestion.
     
  5. artvscommerce

    artvscommerce Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. Rifter

    Rifter Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    8,618
    Likes Received:
    7
    The intel X-25 120GB i installed a few weeks back was not formatted. I would think its a used drive, there are tools though that will read the SMART data and tell you the power on hours which is what you are going tot want to find out.

    EDIT

    Perhaps try this free tool to read smart data

    http://www.passmark.com/products/diskcheckup.htm
     
    #6 Rifter, Jan 14, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2011
  7. LokutusofBorg

    LokutusofBorg Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    SSD Life is another one, just google for it.
     
  8. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    G2's are pre formatted. was pissing me off because it had a MBR and osx won't install on MBR only GUID. i guess it keeps folks from wasting write cycles since most users don't have macs
     
  9. artvscommerce

    artvscommerce Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you very much for your suggestion. With this utility I was able to find that it had been powered on for almost the exact duration I have owned the drive. It says it's been powered on 30 times, so I still think there is a slight chance the drive has been used before, but my main concern was how many times the drive has been written to and the number the software is reporting is extremely low. Thank you again!
     
  10. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,377
    Likes Received:
    34
    My Adata S599 64GB (same drive as the Microcenter G2), also came pre-formatted. Maybe they are trying to save people the trouble of partition alignment, should they try to install XP onto it?
     
  11. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe the format it as part of their iso testing process. call them up and ask. they have a nice rep firm. check the 'egg for their direct line to talk to american's in LA
     
  12. JimKiler

    JimKiler Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    5
    thanks!