Dlink DGL 4300 QOS master required

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CARNAGEROVER, Apr 24, 2006.

  1. CARNAGEROVER

    CARNAGEROVER Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically i have recently bought a Dlink DGL - 4300

    There are other people in the house that use the internet for downloading p2p stuff and general downloading so i wanted to make sure my gaming was top priority.

    If for example someone was uploading at full speed will this router take the bandwidth that it needs for me to continue to have a solid gaming experience or should i try and limit the uploading members of the house to say 75%. ?

    Also the same goes for downloading, i dont think people in my house will mind slowing there uploading, but downloading will be a problem, i have 10mbit, if somone is downloading is using full bandwidth will the gamefuel take the bandwidth it needs to make my games play smooth still ?.

    I have read in differnet places different answers to that question, it to me would seem pointless to have upload looked after and download ignored ? ?

    I wanted to create my own rules for gamefuel as i was paraniod that someone in the house was going to be doing something that would cause me lag. You get lag on xbox live even when you are the only one using it due to the people you are connected to and other such things, so there is no easy way to tell you have everything configured correctly.

    So instead of using the automatic classification totally i decided to create some of my own rules.

    All my Rules other than the Internet rule have one rule set for TCP and then an Identical one setup for UDP

    This is an example of a gamefuel rule i have setup

    Name /Internet
    Priority/ 10 / high priority level
    Protocol/TCP
    Source IP Address/ 192.168.0.116 to 192.168.0.116
    Source Port range/ 1 to 65535
    Destination IP Range/ 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255
    Destination port range / 80 to 80

    I hadnt realised that the router sends things out dynamically, i.e. before i had the rule with the Source port range at 80 to 80 as well as the destination port range. I then realised that the router uses what look like random ports to send information out to the internet. So my rules were not working properly. When i set the source port range to 1 to 65535 whatever ports the router sends the information out on still get my rule applied to them.

    Then i set one up for my P2P application

    Name /Azureus
    Priority/ 255/ Lowest possible priority setting
    Protocol/TCP
    Source IP Address/ 192.168.0.116 to 192.168.0.116
    Source Port range/ 35526 to 35526
    Destination IP Range/ 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255
    Destination port range / 1 to 65535

    Then when i lookded in active connections to make sure that my rules where being applied, i noticed that sometimes Azureus was sneaking ports outside the port range that i had specified in the program. So i decided to make the rules as follows.


    Both P2P machines are set like this

    Name /P2P 1
    Priority/ 255/ Lowest possible priority setting
    Protocol/TCP and UDP rules
    Source IP Address/ 192.168.0.56 to 192.168.0.56
    Source Port range/ 1 to 65535
    Destination IP Range/ 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255
    Destination port range / 1 to 65535

    Name /P2P 2
    Priority/ 255/ Lowest possible priority setting
    Protocol/TCP and UDP rules
    Source IP Address/ 192.168.0.57 to 192.168.0.57
    Source Port range/ 1 to 65535
    Destination IP Range/ 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255
    Destination port range / 1 to 65535

    My machine

    Name /Internet
    Priority/ 10 / high priority level
    Protocol/TCP
    Source IP Address/ 192.168.0.116 to 192.168.0.116
    Source Port range/ 1 to 65535
    Destination IP Range/ 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255
    Destination port range / 80 to 80

    Name /anything else
    Priority/ 255/ Lowest priority
    Protocol/TCP and UDP
    Source IP Address/ 192.168.0.116 to 192.168.0.116
    Source Port range/ 1 to 65535
    Destination IP Range/ 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255
    Destination port range / 1 to 65535

    So the internet gets quite a high priority but anything esle on my machine goes to the bottom of the pile

    Xbox 360

    Name /Xbox 360
    Priority/ 0/ Highest priority
    Protocol/TCP and UDP
    Source IP Address/ 192.168.0.45 to 192.168.0.45
    Source Port range/ 1 to 65535
    Destination IP Range/ 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255
    Destination port range / 1 to 65535

    So any traffic that my xbox 360 uses is given highest priority, i had previously setup the xbox just for some ports like the P2P program but it was using other ports as well so i changed it back to this way.


    Are there any problems using the rules this way, am i causing any problems by having it setup this way, i wanted to make sure everything on my network was setup best for the 360 but i dont want to make things worse by having set the rules up wrong.

    What do you think ?

    Are they wrong ?

    Any help would be ideal as i am new to this and i would just like to get it sorted once and forall now.

    Thanks :)






     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Dlink master required Forum Date
    Dlink DIR 655 vs newer offerings Networking Sep 8, 2015
    Router with a Master Browser function or set up RaspPi? Networking May 20, 2015
    Dlink Patches Router Flaws Networking Mar 5, 2015
    dlink or linksys Networking Jan 11, 2015
    DLink 16 port switch for counter strike Networking Oct 13, 2014

  3. JackBurton

    JackBurton Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    15,987
    Likes Received:
    12
    Here you go, turn on gamefuel. Gamefuel = auto QoS for gaming.
     
  4. CARNAGEROVER

    CARNAGEROVER Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gamefuel is switched on, i have just added specific rules to make sure my xbox 360 has number 1 priority.

     
  5. JackBurton

    JackBurton Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    15,987
    Likes Received:
    12
    Serves me right, I didn't even read your post all the way through. I thought it was just a basic QoS question. Let me go back and read it a little more carefully and see if I can give you something useful. ;)
     
  6. CARNAGEROVER

    CARNAGEROVER Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a more straight forward question also.

    I have just about settled for very few rules now ontop of the automatic classification.

    These rules are

    Xbox priority 0/ the highest on the network
    Internet port 80 and dns port 53/priority 50
    Windows media video ports/49

    The rest of the machine is done via the automatic classification so everything else will be generally priotised after these numbers so nothing is going to get higher priority that i dont want to.

    My question is in reagards to the xbox.

    Microsoft states that the xbox uses ports 3074 TCp 3074/88 UDP

    When i have configured my rules for just these ports before i have noticed in my active configuration that it is using a few others as well.

    Should i leave it as it is now with every port on the 360 gets number one priority.

    Or should i setup just the ports it asks for and leave the latter ones to automatic configuration.

    There are pros and cons for each, if i am prioritsing none critical information on the xbox at priority 0 it may lower performance. Also if i leave the hidden ports to automatic classification they may not get the priority they need

    What do you think ? ? ?