dirt bike question

DrPizza

Administrator Elite Member Goat Whisperer
Mar 5, 2001
www.slatebrookfarm.com
My son has an '87 KX 250. Problem with the back brakes. Something happened to the rear caliper... "I need a new one."

Question: (I'm a complete bike noob when it comes to repairs) - what's preventing me from completely replacing the entire rear brake system - calipers, brake line, even the master cylinder, etc if necessary?

I'm thinking in terms of cars - there's not a lot to the brakes. I've changed the calipers on a car before; it wasn't a big deal. What's the difference from one caliper to another (for a similar sized bike, of course)?

The actual parts he claims he needs are next to impossible to find, because of the age of the bike, and are quite expensive (I'm looking at $500. I can replace the calipers on a car for well under $100.) I know it's pretty bad to make the comparison to a car, but really, how much of a difference is there between calipers that he needs the exact calipers manufactured for that exact year's bike?

I asked this question at the bike shop, the guy just grinned and said, "you'd have to get the exact calipers for that year's bike; they change them every year or so."

ValValline

Feb 18, 2005
Bikes are like cars. A Camry caliper won't fit on an Accord, etc. Bike parts are always more expensive than car parts, because bikes sell in MUCH smaller numbers.

I did a quick search and found the following:
http://offroad.parts-unlimited.com/8/54/4236595
1701-0107 FITS MODEL: KX250 95-02 - REAR CALIPER $304.95

Looks like a 7 year spread using that part, so you may have some luck on ebay or other sites that sell used parts.

DrPizza

Administrator Elite Member Goat Whisperer
Mar 5, 2001
www.slatebrookfarm.com
Thanks. I probably should say that I understand about the parts "fitting" - I just didn't think they'd vary that much.

Oh, and that 7 year spread... didn't include 1987.