Departing Republicans confess: They have been part of a ‘cult’

Amused

Elite Member
Apr 14, 2001
I've been saying for a few years now the GOP has become a mindless cult removed from reality and fact. Unfortunately, no matter how much you expose this reality, people still in the cult can never see that they're in a cult.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/blog...e-been-part-of-a-cult/?utm_term=.f41c7513ae67

rustrated by his Republican colleagues’ refusal to vote on his amendment to roll back President Trump’s tariffs, Sen. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) fessed up on Wednesday: “We’re in a strange place. It’s becoming a cultish thing, isn’t it? It’s not a good place for any party to have a cult-like situation as it relates to a President that happens to be purportedly of the same party.” It’s even worse when the cult leader is dishonest, irrational and erratic; those who follow him quickly appear dishonest, irrational and erratic.

Corker continued: “To have an administration that wakes up every day on an ad hoc basis just making stuff up as they go along with no coherency to it — I think us having to weigh in on that would actually cause them to have to think about what they’re doing versus, ‘Well, I’m upset with X today so I’ll do this.’ ”

There is something refreshing about having the Republican Party’s cowardice out in the open, acknowledged by its own members. The pretense that they were upholding their oaths and/or their constituents was too much to bear.