Defective tire

impulse

May 31, 2000
I drive a 1993 Infiniti J30 and a few weeks ago I had a sidewall blowout on a BF Goodrich Control T/A tire, I bought a set of 4 of these tires no more than 10k mi ago. The blowout was the front left tire and happened while I was driving along a road doing about 30 MPH, the blowout caused my car to lose control and swerve to the left and hit a curb extremly hard. The impact caused extreme front end damage ($1800 worth) and body damage I have yet to have appraised. I have the tire and I inspected the blowout, there are no scuffs of any sort around the area where the sidewall failed, it looks as though the tire had some sort of defect in it. I'm a highschool student and I can't afford to pay to fix this car (I can barely afford to pay for it and insurance). In my mind BF Goodrich is at fault for this incident for letting this tire be sold. Now my question is what should I do now? Any help is deeply appreciated.

Windogg

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
How often did you check the tire pressure? When was the last time you had the tires rotated? We there signs of uneven wear caused by an untuned suspension? How much do you "push" the tires on a daily basis?

I think you are just caught up in the entire Firestone Panic. Blow outs can happen at anytime but it doesn't mean the tires of defective. By your logic, anytime something fails it's someone else's fault. I think I'll sue 3M because the Scotch tape holding a package open when the adhesive failed and ruined a surprise birthday present.

Windogg

impulse

May 31, 2000
I keep regular maintanence of my car, I check tire pressure regularly when the tires are cold and after they have been warmed up, my suspension is in excellent working order, no signs of uneven tire ware of any sorts.

kranky

Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
I'd suggest contacting your insurance company and/or a lawyer. Trying to fight the manufacturer on your own is probably going to be a losing battle.

impulse

May 31, 2000