DDR2 533/667/800 Motherboard Compatibility

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mrrogerz, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. mrrogerz

    mrrogerz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I bought a ECS G33T-M2 motherboard and an E6550 Core 2 Duo. I built the computer and I am not getting a post-screen.

    I thought maybe it was because I was trying to use DDR2 533 Ram when this motherboard offically supports "DDR2 800/667" (according to the link above).

    Officially supporting those bandwidths, is it not backwards compatible to DDR2 533 ram?

    Could this be why I am not getting a post-screen?

    I've built other computers before, however, with standards changing every 5 or so months, it's hard for me to remember whats backwards compatible and not.

    Thanks for your time,

    MrRogerz
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - DDR2 Motherboard Compatibility Forum Date
    Best use / build for a mini-ITX S775 / E3300 / 2x2GB DDR2 rig? General Hardware Jan 4, 2015
    Can DDR2 memory be used on DDR3 motherboards? General Hardware May 26, 2007
    Using Vintage 2005 Patriot DDR2 with New CPU's & Motherboards General Hardware Aug 12, 2006
    If a motherboard has a DDR2 800MHZ standard will ddr2 667MHZ work? General Hardware Jul 25, 2006
    New P4 DDR2 800 motherboard General Hardware May 20, 2003

  3. Drexl

    Drexl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard of this recently. Yes, some boards now will not work with DDR2-533 memory.
     
  4. mrrogerz

    mrrogerz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input,

    I'm going to run to the electronics store tomorrow and pick up a stick of DDR2 667 SDRAM. keeping my figures crossed.
     
  5. Blain

    Blain Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    23,643
    Likes Received:
    2
    > Post the specs of your DDR2 533. <

    1. Your CPU is designed to run on a 1333FSB (4x333)
    2. Your DDR2 533 memory is designed to run on a 533FSB (2x266)
    3. You'll have to set the memory to CPU ratio accordingly.
    4. You should have DDR2 667 to run 1-1 with your CPU.

    The memory speed issues are just a starting point.
    There may still be some other things causing your no-post problem.


     
  6. mrrogerz

    mrrogerz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the input,

    Looks like the ram was the problem. Getting post-screen now.

    Thanks again.