Crysis Warhead Review

raystorm

Diamond Member
Apr 24, 2001
Eurogamer gave it a 9. The game is looking great and I'm definitely getting it next week.

SpunkyJones

Diamond Member
Apr 1, 2004
Dam, I just started playing X-Com again, but there's always room for another game in the rotation.

natebigdawg

Jul 21, 2008
Very impressed with the review. I am quite sure that I will be getting this one. I still need to finish Crysis since I just got a rig together that can handle it fairly well. Playing Warhead maxed out on my 28' is really making it hard for me to focus at work!

jonks

Lifer
Feb 7, 2005
Originally posted by: raystorm
Eurogamer gave it a 9. The game is looking great and I'm definitely getting it next week.

preordered for $25, can download on 9/16...anxiously waiting :) :)

IGN:

I played Warhead on a high-end machine with a quad core CPU and the latest Nvidia graphics card at high resolution (1680x1050) with all the details set to Enthusiast, which is essentially very high. It looked cutting edge and the frame rate was solid. Next, I checked the game on a slightly older PC with a two-year old 8800GTS and I was still able to crank it to Enthusiast settings and the same resolution and get solid results. Finally, I checked it out on the "$700 PC" that Crytek and EA have been touting. It really is a $700 machine built on the latest mainstream parts (the video card is a 9800GT), and I was able to play the final boss battle at the same resolution and at Enthusiast settings and get solid frame rates. I also tried it the Gamer setting, which is essentially high, and the frame rate was buttery smooth.

Holy crap. I guess they really did some serious optimizations. Looking forward to actually getting some use out of my SLI setup!

Miklebud

Platinum Member
Nov 20, 2002
Wow! I've gotta get my priorities straight!(This or Stalker first..?) Add this to my list of Must-Play Games.

CottonRabbit

Golden Member
Apr 28, 2005