Crysis 1 performance with GTX 670

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by PatrickCah, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. PatrickCah

    PatrickCah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    CPU: i5 2500K
    8Gb RAM
    GTX 670
    Samsung 256GB HD

    Performance is not great with the above mentioned card. The settings are all maxed out with 4AA. I have set an aggressive fan profile to prevent the card reaching 70C and down-clocking.
    It is the reference EVGA model. I experience stuttering at times and slowdown. I can't monitor the GPU as Precision X doesn't work in 64 bit applications. In the past stuttering occurred when my old card was overheating.
    Some people claim that the game is CPU limited or just badly optimised. I get a 50-60 FPS much of the time but the minute action heats up there is slow down.
    Anyone else getting similar frame rates or any suggestions how to improve performance?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. DrBoss

    DrBoss Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you running in DX 10? If so, don't waste you time. It is poorly optimized, as is Crysis in 64bit.

    I suggest you run the game in DX 9 and 32bit and make use of this custom config. Great image quality, great performance.

    Please note: The memory settings in <SystemBudget> should be tailored to your particular system/gpu

    PHP:
    CRYSIS
    DX 9 
    ULTRA
    v 1.08
    _______________________________________________________________________
    _______________________________________________________________________
    con_restricted
    =0
    sys_spec_Full
    =4
    _________________________________________________
    <SystemBudget>________
    sys_budget_sysmem
    =4096
    sys_budget_videomem
    =1792
    sys_budget_numdrawcalls
    =3000
    sys_budget_frametime
    =50

    r_MotionBlurShutterSpeed
    =0.04
    r_MotionBlurFrameTimeScale
    =1
    __________________________________________
    <Antialiasing&Filtering>_____
    r_FSAA
    =1
    r_FSAA_samples
    =8
    r_FSAA_quality
    =2
    r_TexMaxAnisotropy
    =0
    r_UseEdgeAA
    =2
    __________________________________________________
    <Misc.>______________
    e_screenshot_file_format
    =jpg
    e_screenshot_height
    =1200
    e_screenshot_quality
    =100
    e_screenshot_width
    =1920
    r_displayinfo
    =0
    r_MultiGPU
    =2
    r_driver
    =DX9
    ______________________________________________
    <ObjectDetails>__________
    e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy
    =4096
    e_detail_materials_view_dist_z
    =256
    e_lods
    =1
    e_lod_ratio
    =10
    e_terrain_occlusion_culling_max_dist
    =1000
    e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio
    =1.7
    e_view_dist_ratio
    =80
    e_view_dist_ratio_detail
    =60
    e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation
    =60
    sys_flash_curve_tess_error
    =1
    ________________________________________________
    <Particles>____________
    e_particles_lod
    =1
    e_particles_max_emitter_draw_screen
    =48
    e_particles_thread
    =1
    e_particles_quality
    =4
    e_max_entity_lights
    =20
    e_water_ocean_soft_particles
    =1
    r_UseSoftParticles
    =1
    _________________________________________________
    <Physics>_____________
    e_cull_veg_activation
    =70
    e_foliage_wind_activation_dist
    =30
    e_phys_ocean_cell
    =0.2
    es_MaxPhysDist
    =100
    es_MaxPhysDistInvisible
    =25
    p_max_MC_iters
    =7000
    sys_physics_CPU
    =1
    ___________________________________________
    <PostProcessingEffects>_____
    cl_hitblur
    =0
    g_battleDust_enable
    =1
    g_battleRange
    =100
    r_ColorGrading
    =1
    r_ColorGradingFilters
    =1
    r_Coronas
    =1
    r_DepthOfField
    =2
    r_Flares
    =1
    r_MotionBlur
    =0
    r_sunshafts
    =1
    r_WaterGodRays
    =1
    r_UsePom
    =1
    _____________________________________________
    <Shaders&Lighting>________
    r_HDRBrightOffset
    =8
    r_HDRlevel
    =0.75
    r_HDRRendering
    =2
    r_SSAO
    =1
    r_SSAO_amount
    =0.4
    r_SSAO_blur
    =4
    r_SSAO_blurriness
    =1
    r_SSAO_darkening
    =1
    r_SSAO_quality
    =2
    r_SSAO_radius
    =2
    _________________________________________________
    <Shadows>_____________
    e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio
    =0.8
    e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods
    =1
    e_shadows_max_texture_size
    =1024
    e_shadows_on_alpha_blended
    =1
    e_terrain_ao
    =1
    r_ShadowBlur
    =3
    r_ShadowJittering
    =2
    r_TerrainAO_FadeDist
    =3
    _________________________________________________
    <Textures>____________
    r_DetailDistance
    =14
    r_DynTexMaxSize
    =100
    r_EnvCMResolution
    =2
    r_EnvTexResolution
    =3
    r_EnvTexUpdateInterval
    =0.025
    r_TexAtlasSize
    =2048
    r_TexResolution
    =0
    r_TextureLodDistanceRatio
    =0
    r_TextureLodMaxLod
    =0
    r_TexturesFilteringQuality
    =0
    r_ReflectionsQuality
    =3
    r_VegetationSpritesTexRes
    =128
    _____________________________________________
    <VolumetricEffects>_______
    r_Beams
    =3
    r_BeamsDistFactor
    =0.1
    r_BeamsMaxSlices
    =250
    _______________________________________________
    <WaterEffects>__________
    e_recursion_view_dist_ratio
    =0.15
    e_water_ocean_fft
    =1
    q_ShaderWater
    =3
    r_WaterCaustics
    =1
    r_WaterReflections
    =1
    r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate
    =3
    r_WaterReflectionsQuality
    =3
    r_WaterRefractions
    =1
    r_WaterUpdateDistance
    =-1
    r_WaterUpdateFactor
    =0.01
    ________________________________________________
    <Mountains>____________
    e_terrain_lod_ratio
    =1
    e_terrain_normal_map
    =0
    e_terrain_texture_lod_ratio
    =1
    r_TexturesStreaming
    =0

      ___          _______     ___    _______   _______
     
    |    \  __   |_______ )  /   \  |______   |______
     
    |___ / /     |_______ )  \___________________
    _______________________________________________________________________
    ===============================================================
     
    #2 DrBoss, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  3. Termie

    Termie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    5
    Does this custom config actually look as good or better than DX10?

    I happened to run Crysis 1 for the first time yesterday on my 3770k/670 just to see how it would do (I had uninstalled it long ago), and was surprised that it could not hold 60fps on Very High/4xAA. Definitely lower than a game like BF3.
     
  4. DrBoss

    DrBoss Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0

    Below is a post i made in another thread several months ago, but it is current to this discussion


    back to the autoexec commands i posted above.
    dx10 very high (defaults)
    [​IMG]

    dx10 ultra (custom autoexec)
    [​IMG]

    the custom conifig boasts
    -significantly increased draw distance detail (check out the mountain in the distance)
    -increased vegetation/foliage draw distance
    -increased object draw distance
    -more realistic shadows/lighting
    -all the same god rays and particle effect

    and 14.9 more FPS in this particular screen

    the only thing that is missing is motion blur...

    if your looking for higher FPS, that autoexec is the way to get them.
     
  5. DrBoss

    DrBoss Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    The post above was a DX10 comparison between my config and the standard very high settings. The config looks just as good in DX9 and performs better (than DX10)

    Contrast in my config is sightly exaggerated for more realistic shadows, which is why the assault rifle looks darker in the 2nd image.

    Edit: It is also worth nothing that without DX10 you will not have object motion blur... which i could care less about, but some might want to hold onto that effect.
     
    #5 DrBoss, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  6. DrBoss

    DrBoss Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Majcric

    Majcric Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have similiar performance here. Hanging around 60 fps a lot of times but with intense action it can dip. (it wouldn't suprise me at all to see it dip in the lower 30's maybe even 20's on the last boss fight.)
     
  8. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Curious to see how well Crysis will run on my gtx670 and my stock clocked i5 2500 non k.

    Run a lower then average resolution of 1440x900,won't doubt it will still drop into the 50's.

    Never owned the game,i told myself when the demo can play at 60 fps on very high on a single gpu, i will buy the game and enjoy the fidelity of the graphics and the awesome gameplay.:cool:

    I remember being blown away when i upgraded my 8800gts 512mb to the gtx280,i went from a average of 11 fps on very high no aa to about 22 at 1080p LOL and was about the last time i took the demo seriously for a while.
     
    #8 skipsneeky2, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  9. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    A 670 can max out Crysis no higher than 1680x1050 no AA. Assuming it is oced past 680 performance. Even then you will get slowdowns every now and then. Alternately play at 1080p High no AA.
     
  10. Majcric

    Majcric Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    2

    You're joking, right?:confused:
     
  11. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. I have a 7970 past ghz and I get similar performance.
     
  12. DrBoss

    DrBoss Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    With AA turned off, a 670 can certainly play Crysis 1 maxed at 1920x1200

    This test was performed with my CPU at 4.4 GHz using a my custom Crysis config @ 1920x1200 with 8x AA
    The FPS figure below represent the average FPS over 5 loops.

    MSI N670 PowerEdition: Core 1215 MHz | Memory 3005 MHz = 56.575 FPS

    Eliminate AA, dump my custom config and use the built in Extreme settings, i bet you are still running around 60 average FPS... which is certainly playable.
     
    #12 DrBoss, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  13. Insomniator

    Insomniator Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Forgetting optimization and how the game actually looks, do we know what exactly the engine is doing that makes todays top cards still choke on it?

    Is it rendering way more lights or way more shadows than most engines, even if we can't notice it all?
     
  14. Deders

    Deders Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been playing Crysis quite happily on my sig at full detail with 8xAA 16xAF, maybe not 60fps but very playable (@1680). Suprised a 670 doesn't make a difference. Maybe it's because most of Crysis is on a single thread.

    Interested to know what I'd have to change apart from the res to make that autoexec fit my computer, I presume the video memory budget would have to be around 1GB?

    The one thing I remember looking different when playing Crysis with in DX9 with everything set to Very High was the geometary shaders on the final boss, but that was in XP, can anyone confirm if the boss looks the same this time around?
     
  15. Termie

    Termie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    5
    Welcome to the forums, Deders. Note that you cannot post a sig until you've made a certain number of posts, so it is not showing. List your specs if you'd like a response to your question above.

    To the OP - I think you've received sufficient input to see that your performance on a GTX670 is quite normal.
     
    #15 Termie, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  16. Deders

    Deders Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, sorry I assumed I'd entered it weeks ago when I signed up.

    This would be my sig if i was allowed one:

    i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - 4GB OCZ CL7 DDR3@1440 7-7-7-18 - Thermaltake Contac 29 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - EVGA 560TI - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - LG Flatron W2252TQ - Razer Deathadder.

    how many posts do I need?
     
  17. PatrickCah

    PatrickCah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dr Boss,
    Thanks a lot. It definitely works better in the 32 bit app.
    However, I was unable to get your custom settings to work. I put theautoexec file in the main crysis directory. The settings are not applied in the game though.

    Thanks.
     
  18. Deders

    Deders Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    It needs to be in Crysis/Game
     
  19. Termie

    Termie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think it might be either 10 or 20. Others may know for sure.

    The thing about Crysis is that it's a very "smooth" engine. If you're playing at 1680x1050, 8xAA, VH, you are probably well below 60fps (maybe 30?). It would still be playable. I played it last night at 1920x1200, 4xAA, VH, and was averaging about 55fps.
     
  20. xcal237

    xcal237 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    idk about you guys but i played crysis warhead on vhigh 8xaa no problem... does that count or is this only for crysis 1?

    edit - i also have a gtx 670
     
  21. Deders

    Deders Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just played through the 1st level where the 1st CPU benchmark is played out and averaged at about 40+fps, only went down to about 35 when there was lots of action. THis was with Triple buffering enabled though as without it would lock around 30 if there was any action.

    Like you say I'd still count this as playable, and if the op (or anyone) can play through the game with better performance than this it's probably not worth waiting till hardware allows constant 60FPS+.
     
  22. Pottuvoi

    Pottuvoi Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's using forward rendering to do it and not in an optimal way.
    Cryengine 3 is a big leap forward in terms of quality for performance.

    It's good to remember that engines are lot more than simply add lights and shadow.
    Cryengine2 was over million lines of code, there are many things that can be less than optimal.
     
  23. Magic Carpet

    Magic Carpet Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    1
    Agreed. Here is a nice article on what has been improved since the original Crysis.