Crunching for SETI with the new computer....

BobTheWizard

Senior member
Oct 7, 2002
545
0
0
Well, I'm excited...

I've been crunching with SETI@home for 3 1/2 years (using the GUI verison) and got up to 77 WUs last week before upgrading my computer. The old system had a K6-III 450 and 256 MB ram, and only did the crunching while in Screensaver....

Last weekend, the new rig (EPoX 8K5A2+ mobo w/ XP1600 OCed to 1750) was stablized, OCed a little and now is turning out between 4 and 6 WUs a day... I'm gonna hit the 100 WU mark later today.

----WOO HOO!!!----

I never really gave it much thought as to how slow it was running, but the old system was really a slug.. heheh

I might put it back up later, when I find some room to set it up again. With the CLI running, it might add an additional WU a day, if that's all it's working on...
 

RaySun2Be

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
16,565
6
71
:cool:
Nice upgrade! :)

If you decide to run that K6, best to run the CLI version. I have a K6-2 500mhz that runs the CLI version, and even with the CLI it sucks. Average is 1 day, 3 hr, 33 minutes. :) But all it does is just sit there, so might as well put it to cracking. :)
 

Ken g6

Programming Moderator, Elite Member
Moderator
Dec 11, 1999
16,239
3,824
75
I wonder if that K6 would be good enough on D2OL to cycle trade? If someone had a bunch of them, they might trade well with P4s.
 

Shuxclams

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
9,286
15
81
If you havent already, be sure to get hooked up to a SETIQ as we are going to have an outage today, and we will for certain in the future as well. Just point your client at one of the SETIQ's listed below.


siren.2y.net:5001.............(256K up/3Mb dn).................. provided by MaxSiren (CANADA - EAST)

seti.scarieville.com:5517.........(256K up/1.5Mb dn)..................... provided by Shuxclams (US WEST)

seti.tacube.com:5517...................................................... provided by Russ (US WEST)

teamanandtech.d2g.com:5001....(128K up/512K dn)....... provided by Confused (EUROPE-UK) [*SEE NOTE BELOW*]

federation.2y.net:443..(256K up/640K dn).. provided by CadKindaGuy (US CENTRAL) [*SEE NOTE BELOW*]

mysterymachine.hn.org:443..........(256K up/640K dn)..........provided by CADkindaGUY (US CENTRAL)

cwcenterprises.myip.org:5517.......(128K up/1.5Mb dn).................provided by SoulAssasin (US EAST)

magic.darktech.org:5512.................... (128K up/768 dn)...................provided by The Magicman (EUROPE -Germany)

paf077.dns2go.com:5517.............(Variable up/3.5Mb dn)..........provided by Paf077 (CANADA EAST)

nebra.org:5001....... (128K up/768K dn).......................provided by onebadv6 (US EAST)

mrepko.dns2go.com:5001.......(128K up/768Kdn)..................provided by EvilWobbles (US EAST)

128.211.174.132:5517.............(384K up/1.5Mb dn)...................provided by minendo (US EAST)

68.10.67.7:5517.....(128K up/3.0Mb dn)........provided by ReaganCRW (US SOUTHEAST)

80.234.160.16:5517.........................(256K up/512K dn).........provided by Crow (EUROPE - UK)

slaunix.dyndns.org:5517..............(~350K up/1.5Mb dn).......provided by Slaughter (US EAST)

seti.soni.dk:5517................(512K up/512K dn)................provided by soni (EUROPE -Denmark)

crunching.kicks-ass.net:5517....... (736K up/736K dn).....provided by ThePit (EUROPE-Switzerland)

coldfear.homeip.net:5517.....(10M up/10M dn)......provided by htmlmasterdave (CANADA - EAST)


Its very easy to do depending on the client your using. i.e; if your running the CLI version just add -proxy seti.scarieville.com:5517 and it will get and send Wu's from your own cache of Wu's. You'll also have access to cool stats 24/7 like These.











SHUX
 

deerslayer

Lifer
Jan 15, 2001
10,153
0
76
I have that exact setup and overclock with 512mb 2700 and win2kprof running CLI and I can get 8wu/day consistently, sometimes it will dip down to 7 but usually 8.
 

lane42

Diamond Member
Sep 3, 2000
5,721
624
126
Nice upgrade Bob, That should be good for 7 or 8 a day, Not bad for a 50 Dollar cpu :D
 

BobTheWizard

Senior member
Oct 7, 2002
545
0
0
Just checked... sent 7 WUs today. Way cool.... :)

Total of 99 units sent. I'm movin' on up the ranking..heheh

100 WU milestone tomorrow!! Yippie.... heheh


Gotta save my pennies for another 256MB of ram though, cuz the wife told me (on the phone) that she got the screen saver working again.
rolleye.gif
Ya know.... what the hell can you do. She helped finance the upgrade so figures it's her computer, too.


Keep on crunchin'....
 

niktheblak

Junior Member
Oct 2, 2002
12
0
0
OK, now I'm frightened.

I have a 1.8 GHz P4 Northwood with 256 MB's DDR266 memory and I have been crunching my very first WU for 20h and 48 minutes now, and the WU is currently 53.5% done. OS is W2K and I'm using Seti@home GUI client, version 3.07.

W2k's task manager indicates that S@H has had 20h and 30 minutes of CPU time.

What am I doing wrong? Northwoods can't really suck that bad, can they?
 

Wiz

Diamond Member
Feb 5, 2000
6,459
16
81
niktheblak, the GUI sucks real bad
You really should drop it and go with the CLI.
Otherwise, how are your memory settings?
Seti likes fast memory settings, high FSB and big on chip cache.
 

BobTheWizard

Senior member
Oct 7, 2002
545
0
0
Yeah, well... I'd like to but don't think that's gonna happen at this time. Least I switched to the CLI version. It is definately faster.


Wifey wants to run a screen saver to show all our pictures in the "My Picture" folder. She was so excited on how "neat" it was being able to do that.


Oh well... 2 steps forward, 1 step back.
 

niktheblak

Junior Member
Oct 2, 2002
12
0
0
Memory is at CL2 (Turbo mode), 266 MHz. FSB is at quad-pumped 100 MHz and Northwoods have 512 kB's of L2 cache.

I guess upping FSB to 133 MHz (thus making the system run at 2.4 GHz and memory at ~350 MHz) could do at least some good.

And last but not least, I wasn't aware that the CLI version was any faster than the GUI version. I'm going to try it out ASAP.

Thanks for the hint, BTW :)
 

Wiz

Diamond Member
Feb 5, 2000
6,459
16
81
Well a picture slide show shouldn't take too many cycles.
Is there a setting in it to go to blank screen after xx minutes?


niktheblak, cool, if you can make it run 133 fsb it will definitely improve, along with running the CLI you should see a vast improvement.
Also what OS is it running? Win2K, XP & NT are better for seti than Win9x or MEEEEEE...
 

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
24,120
507
126
He said he was running Win2k;)

niktheblak
If you have the graphics showing on the Scrn svr version then that doubles WU times!:Q ,even when the graphics arent showing (minimised/blank screen) then the CLi is still about 25% faster!:)
Having said that ,even for the GUI version ,21hrs for 53% is bad! :Q
Northwoods do very well at SETI btw ,especially when you really crank them up;)

You should be getting sub 4hr WU's with the CLi
 

BobTheWizard

Senior member
Oct 7, 2002
545
0
0
:D


Checked the stats again, and looks like 7 WUs already today. The new rig is really crankin'.

The ScreenSaver that the wife loaded up doesn't seem to be interfering too much after all (though I did turn it off last night... does it still activate with the monitor off?).

I like that CLI version of Seti@home... it work much better than the GUI, and with the upgrade... heheh


ssssmokin'!!!

:cool:
 

Wiz

Diamond Member
Feb 5, 2000
6,459
16
81
BobTheWizard, thanks for the laugh ;)
"does it still activate with the monitor off?"
Yeah, it doesn't really know if the monitor is there or not, it will run the SS proggy no matter what. Kinda dumb that way, you would think with all the 'intelligence' built into these things now it could 'know' if the monitor is turned on or even plugged in, then just not bother with going into screensaver if there is no monitor present.
Truth is, I'll bet those who program such things just haven't given it much thought. (yet) ;)
 

BobTheWizard

Senior member
Oct 7, 2002
545
0
0
heheh... well, logic would say that the screen saver doesn't function with the "Screen" off, but hey... you never can tell.

Actually, that's something I should have known. I even made myself laugh...heheheh



Thanks, Wiz....