CPU Temps too High?

iRage

Feb 11, 2011
Hey everyone, I'm currently looking at my ROG Sensor on the AI Suite, it says that my CPU is at 37c, CPU Socket 41c while the motherboard is 36c. I only have firefox with this one tab open, is this too high? Could I have a faulty Heatsink? I'm running a Hyper 212+ over Arctic MX-4 with a i7-2600k.

dma0991

Platinum Member
Mar 17, 2011
37C for web browsing and not idle seems pretty good to me. Temps varies depending on the ambient temps of your place but for a setup that I have built with Core i7 2600 it hovers around that temps as well so I would say that your rig is fine.

JBDan

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2004
Seems fine to me although I'm rather new to SB. It tickles me everytime I see people post about CPU temps, specifically on these newer processors, and they never post what kind of case, fans, and ambient temps they are running....

Some will say "My 2500K idles at 26C" then some say "mine idles at 36C why is mine so much higher"

these are HUGE! factors :biggrin:

Axon

Platinum Member
Sep 25, 2003
my 2600k also web browes/idles between 33-36c. Then at load hits 72ish on two cores. As long as it is stable I try not to freak out - I always have very, very high temps on my CPUs; I'm starting to believe its my apartment, which is always being slammed with heat (lots of old people in my building, easily 80 degrees F in my place).

lsv

Golden Member
Dec 18, 2009
My i7 920 is around 38-40c with light us, Firefox, SD movie, msn/etc...

I think you're fine :)

iRage

Feb 11, 2011
Seems fine to me although I'm rather new to SB. It tickles me everytime I see people post about CPU temps, specifically on these newer processors, and they never post what kind of case, fans, and ambient temps they are running....

Some will say "My 2500K idles at 26C" then some say "mine idles at 36C why is mine so much higher"

these are HUGE! factors :biggrin: