CPU running slow on battery - is this normal/common?

Discussion in 'SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs' started by VirtualLarry, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,694
    Likes Received:
    87
    I recently obtained an Asus X401A (purchased at BestBuy). It has a B970 CPU. (2.3Ghz Sandy Bridge Pentium dual-core.)

    I installed CPU-Z 1.62.something.

    I noticed, and marvelled at, the fact that while on Skype, this CPU appeared to be "so fast", that it was not even coming out of idle clocks.

    Then I went to Speedtest.net, and it loaded SLOWLY. VERY SLOWLY. It's a fairly heavy flash-based site.

    Then I realized, it wasn't that the CPU wasn't deciding to throttle up, rather, it was PREVENTED from throttling up.

    Then I realized, that this CPU appears to be "locked" at 800Mhz while on battery. Thus being slower than my C-60 based Netbook, amazingly enough.

    All, just to have comparable battery life to the c-60 while on battery.

    Even Aero Glass effects are disabled while on battery.

    It is using the default installation of Asus pre-loaded software. It seems to have included some sort of "PowerGears" software, that changes power plans automagically, based on whether it is running off of battery or plugged into AC power.

    This feels almost like false advertising to me. "2.3Ghz" should be capable of actually RUNNING at that speed, whether on battery or not.

    AMD laptops run at full-speed on battery, why can't Intel-based laptops?

    I once owned a Gateway C2D laptop, that acted the same way. I think that it was 1.6Ghz, but only ran at 800Mhz on battery as well. And that was with a fresh default install of the OS. I assumed that was controlled by the BIOS somehow.
     
  2. paul878

    paul878 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want the cpu to run full speed on battery then set it to do so in power manager. pick the Maximum performance plan.
     
  3. cl-scott

    cl-scott ASUS Support

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    In short, yes. This is really more of a Windows thing than an Asus thing, but basically the CPU and other things are "degraded" in order to prolong the amount of time you can run the unit on battery power.
     
  4. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,593
    Likes Received:
    8
    So Larry, if you take off the Asus crap will it start hitting full speed?

    My Lenovos did not have this issue.

    -Mike
     
  5. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,836
    Likes Received:
    6
    Uninstall that Asus junk
     
  6. marcplante

    marcplante Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    1
    Or you can go into that Asus junk and refine the advanced power settings to tweak CPU levels under battery operation. You have to decide what profiles you want handy and whether the default windows tools give you enough flexibility to do what you want.


    If so, Ditch the Asus SW. If not, you may want it
     
  7. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,694
    Likes Received:
    87
    I adjusted max processor state to 100% in the Asus software, and clicked "Save", and it still doesn't throttle up when on battery power.
     
  8. gorcorps

    gorcorps aka Brandon

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    29,283
    Likes Received:
    61
    As was stated earlier in the thread: check power options

    It's a windows thing, not an Asus thing. You can usually get to it from just right clicking the battery icon in your toolbar, but you can always get to it via control panel. You can easily switch between profiles that control what performance is possible on battery.
     
  9. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,593
    Likes Received:
    8
    I thought the 'insert power options' overrode the windows power options; so, save the Asus options = save the Windows options (that are already present, anyway)
     
  10. Gooberlx2

    Gooberlx2 Lifer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    15,373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Last few generations of CPU only really throttle up when they need to based on the task. Start compressing some HD video and then see what your CPU reports.
     
  11. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    23
    Try throttlestop. I'd be very curious to know if it actually helps.
     
Loading...