Discussion CPU power over the last 15 or so years on my rigs, a quick review...

Hulk

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
For various reasons I had to start over with Windows with my main desktop rig this weekend. As usual it's a whole weekend affair... deactivating all of my software, reloading, setting it up... I've been rebuilding this PC for the last 20 years at this point I think only the case has survived from the original build.

Anyway one of the tests I've been doing for the last 17 or so years is with Magix Vegas Pro (used to be Sony, used to be Sound Forge). There was an old rendertest from 2010 I've been using as a benchmark rendering it out to the same format over the years.

2006 - Core2Duo E6400 O/C to 3.2GHz - 1025 seconds
2011 - 2500K O/C to 4.2GHz - 164 seconds
2014 - 4770K (stock) - 49 seconds
2021 - 12700K (running ~4.3GHz during this render) - 11.37 seconds

All of these results were performed with the GPU in the CPU and it should be noted that the render format is not GPU accelerated but the operations in the timeline that "assemble" the timeline are accelerated by the GPU. So the GPU does have some effect on the result. Compared to the E6400 the 12700K is 90 times faster. That's nearly two orders of magnitude. While the test script is old it is a good representation of Vegas performance as far as what the "seat of my pants tells me." Especially when it comes to playback as this project was a stuttering mess with the E6400 now it's pretty much realtime with a few spots where it drops to 24fps.

Tech Junky

Diamond Member
Jan 27, 2022
Now, that takes a lot of patience over almost 2 decades. I switch gears much more often though as my last update was from 8700K -> 12700K and 9750H -> 12700H (laptop).