CPU/mobo/mem are being used in the bench test for GPU's

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by zero koopa, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. zero koopa

    zero koopa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Under the bench for GPU in anandtech, what type of set up is being used?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - mobo bench test Forum Date
    PCI-e Compatibility ( 3.0 GPU whit 1.x MOBO ) Video Cards and Graphics Dec 13, 2016
    [Gamegpu.ru]Skyrim: Special Edition GPU benches Video Cards and Graphics Oct 31, 2016
    No UEFI mobo, no 480/10xx? Video Cards and Graphics Jul 7, 2016
    Need a quick YES/NO regarding cpu/mobo/gpu sale/purchase Video Cards and Graphics Nov 15, 2015
    New video card for this 3 year old 1155 mobo Video Cards and Graphics Oct 13, 2015

  3. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it mentioned there?
     
  4. Face2Face

    Face2Face Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    139
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3960X @ 4.3GHz
    Motherboard: EVGA X79 SLI
    Chipset Drivers: Intel 9.​2.​3.​1022
    Power Supply: Antec True Power Quattro 1200
    Hard Disk: Samsung 470 (256GB)
    Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1867 4 x 4GB (8-10-9-26)
    Case: Thermaltake Spedo Advance
     
  5. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,823
    Likes Received:
    79
    It's likely whatever was used at the time of the review the results are taken from.
     
  6. zero koopa

    zero koopa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just couldn't find anything about what kind it was.

    If I get something like:

    CPU: 3570K i5
    MOBO: Asus z77 pro
    MEM: 16 Gb 1600 1.5V 9 Cas
    GPU: GTX 670
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256

    Could I still get 60 FPS on BF3 on Ultra 4xMSAA at 1920x1980?
     
  7. Termie

    Termie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    43
    The platform is irrelevant if you're talking about the singleplayer benchmark in the AnandTech bench. Only the GPU matters in singleplayer with any modern quad.

    Multiplayer - no, you won't be locked at 60fps.
     
  8. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    Where did you get this from?
     
  9. Face2Face

    Face2Face Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    139
  10. zero koopa

    zero koopa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anything that I can change that would help me out to get FOR SURE 60 fps? Do I need to SLI? Should I buy a 3770K i7?
     
  11. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    79
    anyone know what's being used for the CPU bench? VGA?
     
  12. MrK6

    MrK6 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,438
    Likes Received:
    1
    BF3 is one of the very highly threaded games out there. A 3770K would help, but there are always odd moments here you can drop below 60FPS (too many explosions, a ton of smoke, etc.). Also, a GTX 670 wouldn't cut it. A 7970 GHz edition is probably the only single-GPU solution that will get you 60FPS minimum at stock speeds. Overclocked a GTX 670 might.
     
  13. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,823
    Likes Received:
    79
    As far as a single gpu that will do it, maybe the 7970GE OC'd, but a ~20% increase in minimums is a big ask. 50+ ain't bad, though.

    [​IMG]

    Notice on the graph that the 51fps only occurs once. Other than that it stays above 55fps. O/C'd, other than that one spot, 60+ minimums should be realistic.