Couple of questions about STALKER

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

coloumb

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
Originally posted by: LintMan
With all the Stalker mod discussion here, let me ask my question: do mods take effect in existing games, or do you have to start a new game?

I ask because I just started playing and know I'll likely want to try some mods later, but if I have to start from scratch to use them, I'll add the mods in now.

Some require you to restart while others do not. If you're not that far into the game [I'd say before the bar], then I'd suggest trying out the mods.

sandorski

No Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
Iron Sights are not too bad, as long as you shoot in bursts. Once you get a scoped weapon you won't want to use Iron Sights again though. Even with a scope though, you need to shoot in bursts.

imported_sushicide

Jun 20, 2005
Before I got the fast-firing AK, I just used the Viper SMG, going cover from cover while unloading rounds into people's heads at close range.

imported_Imp

Diamond Member
Dec 20, 2005
Come to think of it, accurracy was only a problem with the beginning pistols and the AK-SU. When I got the Viper/MP-5, shooting was pretty easy and effective (first time I dropped people without emptying 5 clips). Too bad I never had ammo... The iron sights are very well made and I used them all the way to the end.

Sylvanas

Diamond Member
Jan 20, 2004
Accuracy gets better, but you have to remember firing single shots is much more accurate than spraying, keep at it, great game :)

lupi

Lifer
Apr 8, 2001
I just started playing this. Somewhat amazed at the difficulty right off the bat. Must be hell on those not used to FPS games :)

apoppin

Lifer
Mar 9, 2000
alienbabeltech.com
Originally posted by: lupi
I just started playing this. Somewhat amazed at the difficulty right off the bat. Must be hell on those not used to FPS games :)