Could use some knowledgeable input on what I should invest time in...

Turbonium

Platinum Member
Mar 15, 2003
I'm very interested in programming, web design, and basically anything IT-related. I'm a self-taught web developer (HTML, CSS, JS), and have experience in programming (Java).

I spend a lot of time on the computer, and I'd like to make the most of it. What should I learn next? Should I learn PHP so I can make real websites?

I've always wanted to program a game of some sort. Should I learn C++ (virtually from scratch)? I'm by no means gifted in math, but I am tenacious and am good at using the internet to solve problems I don't know how to solve (forums, documentation, tutorials, etc.).

As for a career-path: no clue where I'm going. If I can get a well paying job in IT in 4-5 years, that would be optimal, but my degree is in something totally unrelated. I would assume I need formal schooling to get a good job, but ignoring that fact, what do you recommend I do on my own (in addition to formal education)?

It's basically PHP vs. C++ vs. working on various projects that I never finished (heavily modified phpBB board/theme, game modding, etc.; basically, very specific, non-transferable skills/accomplishments).

Last edited:

Markbnj

Elite Member <br>Moderator Emeritus
Sep 16, 2005
www.markbetz.net