Corsair PSU RMA

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by thilanliyan, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,328
    Likes Received:
    89
    Anyone have any experience?

    I started a ticket on Jan.16, on Jan.21 they told me they won't have stock of my PSU until Jan.27. I replied on Jan. 29 but still no reply from them.

    I've heard Corsair is very good with RMAs...anyone else can share experience?

    How long do they usually take to reply?

    EDIT:
    So I got a hold of them online and they finally responded to my ticket and said that my PSU is STILL out of stock and won't have any until the end of February.

    What if my PSU is continuously out of stock? Can I ever get a replacement? I asked if I could pay the difference and get a different PSU but they said they don't do that.

    Is there anyone from Corsair on these forums?
     
    #1 thilanliyan, Feb 4, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Corsair Forum Date
    New Corsair VS400 not working but... Power Supplies Aug 30, 2017
    No video on power-up using Skylake G4500 with Corsair CX430 Power Supply Power Supplies May 24, 2017
    Wierd noise from 850w corsair tx PSU Power Supplies Mar 23, 2017
    Corsair 750RMi vs EVGA 750w G2 Power Supplies Mar 21, 2017
    About Corsair Power Supply Power Supplies Feb 7, 2017

  3. nwo

    nwo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just recently used their advance RMA service to replace my refurb TX 750 (v1). The only thing I dislike about their advance RMA service is their 10 day return policy. They must receive the defective product within 10 business days of shipping out the replacement. The replacement arrived 6 business days later, so I only had 3 days left...

    Also, the replacement PSU cables look beat up and abused and I'm still having minor issues with the PSU. Time will tell if this is a worthy replacement but I'm starting to think it's a waste of time and $$.

    I also called their customer service and I was on hold for about an hour... I haven't tried contacting them online so I wouldn't know how long it would take them to reply.
     
  4. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,328
    Likes Received:
    89
    ^Thanks for the info. I had only heard good things about Corsair customer service...maybe it's not as great as it was anymore. I'm trying right now to use their livechat but it seems to be taking its time connecting to anyone.
     
  5. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,328
    Likes Received:
    89
    Got through to online chat. They said they've been swamped lately...I HOPE that doesn't mean a lot of failing products :p
     
  6. nwo

    nwo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Corsair's new products are top notch. Can't say the same about their refurbs though. Will probably never buy a refurb PSU again (regardless of brand) after the terrible experience I've had with the TX 750. However, I don't hold any grudges against Corsair and will continue to buy their products.
     
  7. wowsza

    wowsza Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    same exact experience.

    i bought three of the refurb tx750w's from tigerdirect, and two have failed so far. i've spent ~$25 shipping both back for RMA's, so the savings aren't even worth it any more.

    the ver.2 TX's on the other hand are very good PSU's.
     
  8. fschris

    fschris Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    interesting... I was posting in another thread that my TX750 V2 is on the fritz, Purchased in 2011 so it is still under 5 yr warranty. I Got the RMA info and I will send it back and see what I get. In the meantime I just bought a new Corsair HX 750 as an upgrade to my TX750. I just got it from new egg and the packaging is nice as usually and the extra cable come with a storage bag which is nice. I am sure some lower end supplies just come with everything thrown into box. I will update when I get a replacement 750 and see what condition it is in.
     
  9. vshah

    vshah Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    16
    not psu related, but still corsair - I just bought a carbide 540 air case, and one of the front 140mm fans was making a soft grinding noise, much louder than the other two. Corsair shipped me a replacement, and I don't have to return the faulty one. time from opening ticket to replacement shipped = 2 days.
     
    buschman31 likes this.
  10. wowsza

    wowsza Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a few of the tx 850's (v2) and they are rock solid compared to the tx750w's i got from tiger direct.

    also, i guess RMA'ing the tx750w's got me flagged or something. they used to never ask for copies of my invoices, and now i get asked every time:|
     
  11. Venomous

    Venomous Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do the rev 1.0 tx750 have the non modular cables? I've been hearing a lot of clicking from mine during boot and entering windows. Afterwards the clicking disappears.

    I bought my psu on sale from newegg in 2011 when they had a sale and threw it up on the closet shelf for 18 months before I used it in a build. This would make each corsair purchase of mine, requiring an RMA.

    Backpane on 800d had 2 dead ports, USB cover broke first time opening.
    H100i had damaged fan cable and one defective fan
    M65 had issues snapping every direction despite software tuning

    I swear, I don't like being a beta tester or quality control person for free.
     
    #10 Venomous, Feb 6, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  12. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,328
    Likes Received:
    89
    So I got a hold of them online and they finally responded to my ticket and said that my PSU is STILL out of stock and won't have any until the end of February.

    What if my PSU is continuously out of stock? Can I ever get a replacement? I asked if I could pay the difference and get a different PSU but they said they don't do that.

    Is there anyone from Corsair on these forums?
     
  13. nwo

    nwo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm... Well the typical RMA/warranty claim policy should state that if they do not have the product available, they have to provide you with a replacement which is an equivalent or an upgrade of what you had before...
     
  14. Puffnstuff

    Puffnstuff Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    1,526
    Gee I suppose that I'll get that same experience when I rma my hx1000 really soon.
     
  15. Dassem

    Dassem Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    While it was not a psu, i had corsair headset that died after a few month and since they didnt had that particular model anymore they upgraded me to the newest version and the RMA went without problem. Then the new headset they sent me died again a few month later i wrote them an angry hate mail and they contacted me and said to file a new RMA and this time they paid for shipping and did crosshipping for the replacement. So overall even if i did had to RMA twice i only had positive experience with that department. (that was 2 years ago i beleive)
     
  16. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,328
    Likes Received:
    89
    Any ideas of which avenue I should pursue? I'm not the kind of guy to demand anything over and above my PSU, but if it's continuously out of stock they should make the effort to provide me with a replacement of equal or greater value/performance. I even offered to pay the difference between my PSU and whatever PSU they choose equal to mine but they refused that.

    I even have one of their AX1200i units. And had an HX620 before this HX1050. I've been buying Corsair because I've heard of their really good CS but if this doesn't get resolved by the end of the month I'll seriously think twice about buying from them again. :(
     
    #15 thilanliyan, Feb 11, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  17. nwo

    nwo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think your CS can depend on the rep/luck of the draw. Try an alternate contact method and see what kind of response you get.
     
  18. DooKey

    DooKey Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    96
    There's a CS guy over at the [H] goes by Redbeard. Might want to try to contact him.
     
  19. CHEMEMAN

    CHEMEMAN Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea ^ ... Redbeard helped me with the RMA of my HX1000 and I received a NIB replacement with all accessories. Look him up on EVGA or [H] and he will help your out. MUCH better than working through the usual channels.
     
  20. PhIlLy ChEeSe

    PhIlLy ChEeSe Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    they also have a forum, though not sure they do customer service in it. No experience with there RMA, but the OP makes me wonder about buying from them again.........Red is also at extreme systems forums in the memory section.
     
  21. Puffnstuff

    Puffnstuff Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    1,526
    I filled out their rma request form on their new site which doesn't work half the time and am waiting for them to issue me a rma so I can return my hx1000. The last time I had to rma something their system automatically generated the rma right after I filled out the request. Glad I laid out my bucks to enermax on my new ps.
     
  22. Puffnstuff

    Puffnstuff Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    1,526
    Well it took them over a day but corsair issued me a rma number. It probably helped that I attached my receipt and a copy of my s/n with my submission. FedEx gets it tomorrow so we'll see how long it takes them to complete this action. I'll put the replacement up as a spare just in case but I'm fairly certain that I'll be sticking with enermax from now on. The only reason I bought the corsair in the first place is because it was the most powerful unit my local compusa store had in stock. Unfortunately no other place in town carries high wattage ps's unless you order from them online.
     
  23. FiLeZz

    FiLeZz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    4,769
    Likes Received:
    40
    I just did an RMA on my ax1200 and they have no stock I am about a week -week and a few days in on my RMA. I called them again today and they have no stock. I was told they are going to refund my money for the power supply as they don't have any. So I will upgrade to something but not sure what. The ax1500i is due out any day now. anyone else have an idea of what power supply to get.
     
  24. Puffnstuff

    Puffnstuff Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    1,526
    How much wattage do you need? I'm a firm believer in enermax and they've consistently been the best ps's I've ever used.
     
  25. FiLeZz

    FiLeZz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    4,769
    Likes Received:
    40
    This is the second ax1200 I have killed. I am running an overclocked 3930k and 3 x780gtx evga cards. Water cooled 10 120mm fans
     
  26. Puffnstuff

    Puffnstuff Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    1,526
    You should get an enermax platimax or revomax power supply.