Corsair CX430 430w = $20

Discussion in 'Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests' started by kleinkinstein, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. 4eigner

    4eigner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    In for one. Thanks, kleinkinstein!
     
  3. MontyAC

    MontyAC Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great price. My rebate is arriving soon when it was on sale last month.
     
  4. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,225
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Very tempting, but I already have one from last time, and I failed to send in the rebate. I decided to get more pro-active about sending in rebates, but I don't think I need another PSU. Even though this is a relative steal for $20 AR. That's the price of a crap PSU, and this PSU is NOT crap.
     
  5. qliveur

    qliveur Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    12
    Even the first version wasn't crap, and this model is improved to the point that it's one of the best (if not THE best) budget PSUs out there.
     
  6. mikeford

    mikeford Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    In for one, wow I hate rebates, hope I remember to send this in.
     
  7. drshivas

    drshivas Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    The first one I got a few years ago is still going strong. The second one I RMA'd due to excessively loud coil whine. This was the last time they were sub $20. Hope these are better this time.
     
  8. MrVeedo

    MrVeedo Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    screw it im in. will make a good backup.
     
  9. Balzac04

    Balzac04 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me too, in for a backup
     
  10. UaVaj

    UaVaj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    can this power an

    i5-760, 8gb, gtx580, ssd,7200rpm hd, 2 80mm fan?

    would like to oc the i5-760 to 3.5ghz air.

    for $20 - could use a new "single rail" design psu.
     
  11. TemjinGold

    TemjinGold Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    65
    I think you'd be fine if you didn't oc but that's cutting it pretty close. But for $20, not much harm in trying, then if it doesn't work, keeping it as a backup unit.
     
  12. mshan

    mshan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    #12 mshan, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  13. Homerboy

    Homerboy Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    Messages:
    25,121
    Likes Received:
    562
    Would this be enough to power an AMD 955 BE, 1 SSD, 2 HDDs and 8800 GT ?
     
  14. Wyndru

    Wyndru Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ahh, I'll bite this time. I need a backup anyhow.

    I really hate rebates.
     
  15. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,225
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    I think so.
     
  16. qliveur

    qliveur Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    12
    Depends on how overclocked everything is, but this is the new model with 32 +12v amps, so yeah, he should be safe.
     
  17. Homerboy

    Homerboy Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    Messages:
    25,121
    Likes Received:
    562
    955BE is OC'ed (and cores unlocked) but is default voltage.
    8800GT is stock.
     
  18. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,225
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    955BE is a native quad-core, and does not have any unlockable cores.

    Which CPU do you really have?
     
  19. qliveur

    qliveur Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think that he's talking about the unlocked multi.

    Anyway, he should be fine with this PSU.
     
  20. jrichrds

    jrichrds Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Coil whine seems a common trait with the OEM of this PSU. I've experienced it across various PSU brands all using similar design from same OEM. When no/small load (i.e. PC off), I could clearly hear the coil whine.
     
  21. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    It likely can, see my rig in sig, it has been powered by that PSU before.
     
  22. UaVaj

    UaVaj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    ::Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0ghz (100x50) 1.400v ~ 47% performance increase
    ::2x4GB Mushkin DDR3-1333
    ::Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3-B3
    ::XFX Radeon 6850 1GB
    ::Corsair Builder Series CX600 PSU
    ::3x Corsair Force SF1200-based 80GB SSD in RAID-0
    ::Water Cooling - Swiftech Apogee GTX, Triple 120mm rad, 120GPH pump
    ::Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

    all that of a CX430. :eek:

    do tell more. did it fried? now you have a cx600.
     
  23. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    A 550w antec died and it was pulled from my HTPC for a few days to run it until the replacement CX600 came in.
     
  24. TemjinGold

    TemjinGold Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    65
    It's only 1 6850 and an OCed 2600k. Why are you so shocked?
     
  25. Pariah

    Pariah Elite Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2000
    Messages:
    7,357
    Likes Received:
    20
    You've been brainwashed by the manufacturers into thinking you need more than a 4xxw PSU to power an average system. Unless you are running SLI with 5+ traditional hard drives, you don't need more than about 400W's. Most typical systems don't even need 300W's.