Corsair CX 430W Power Supply with Modular Cabling

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by paradigmGT, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. paradigmGT

    paradigmGT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am totally new to the world of desktop upgrades. I want to turn my Dell Inspirion 530 (~6 years old) into a machine that can run some decent games. It has an Intel Core 2 Quad Core processor (Q6600, 2.4ghz), 3gb DDR2 memory, 350watt PSU, & 2 hard drives (the oem 7200rpm 320gb & a WD Green 5200rpm 1.5tb).

    I decided to purchase a Corsair CX 430W modular PSU because it was on sale. It hasn't arrived yet, but I now worry that it may not work with my machine, because apparently some Dell's use different pin-outs. Is there anyway I can look at my machine and verify this?

    Also will this power supply be a safe bet with say an HD 6750 or HD7750 GPU?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Corsair 430W Power Forum Date
    New Corsair VS400 not working but... Power Supplies Aug 30, 2017
    Corsair CX 430W or pay a bit more? Power Supplies Mar 8, 2014
    Corsair CX430 430w with an i7 3770k, 5850, etc? beyond the limit of psu? Power Supplies May 22, 2013
    will I be safe with a corsair CX430 430w PSU to power my system? Power Supplies Feb 6, 2013
    Corsair 430w good enough for this build? Power Supplies Mar 8, 2012

  3. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    49
  4. paradigmGT

    paradigmGT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    The OEM PSU makes 350w peak.

    The Corsair I just purchased is 430w. I think I wasted my money on purchasing a unit that makes only 70w more than before. But then again that 70w may be the saving grace to a future failure...
     
  5. gazhen

    gazhen Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Dell 530 and have upgraded my PSU to the Corsair CX 430 and have a HD 5770, you should have no problems.
     
  6. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    49
    The peak power of the Corsair can go higher than 430 watts. It's previous non-modular versions could pull up to over 500 watts, although under 80% efficiency.

    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Corsair-CX430-Power-Supply-Review/1200/8

    V2: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Corsair-CX430-V2-Power-Supply-Review/1284/8
     
    #5 Torn Mind, Jan 23, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
  7. max347

    max347 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    They make a modular cx430 now? Where can you find them?
     
  8. Necc

    Necc Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running a HD7850 1GB with a Corsair CX430v2, if the card requires only 1 PCI-e connector then the CX430 is plenty. (unless crazy oc and 12+ fans :awe: )

    Newegg
     
  9. Eureka

    Eureka Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    The CX430 is rated at continuous power, which means it'll peak higher than it's rating. The Dell, if rated for peak power, has a much lower continuous rating... for $30-50, it's not a bad upgrade to the CX430.

    Now, I actually think you could've scraped by with the 350W. Even if its continuous rating was around 300W, the Q6600 only needs 100W and the 7770 needs 80W. With the hard drives you might peak around 250W.

    That said, it's not a bad idea to go with the CX430, and the modularity will make things cleaner inside your case. The CX430 will most likely be enough for any single GPU upgrade you will have in the future, or at least until they switch over to a new connector type for GPUs. If the CX430M was available when I did my shopping it would be in my rig right now.
     
  10. Charlie98

    Charlie98 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've got a non-modular CX430 in my new HTPC build and it works fine, it's a lot quieter than I though it would be. TBH, the non-modularity doesn't bother me... I use every cable except the string of molex connectors.
     
  11. jonnyGURU

    jonnyGURU Moderator <BR> Power Supplies
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    11,700
    Likes Received:
    0
    Incorrect. Because the CX is roughly based on CWT's DSAII platform, they assume it can only do 350W because that's what the DSAII does. But the Corsair has a double sided PCB and twice the number of rectifiers as the DSAII. So if you bought a 430W, you got a 430W.
     
  12. paradigmGT

    paradigmGT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info guys. Time to see if I can cancel my Corsair order...
     
  13. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    49
    I doubt the system can even consume 300 watts. The 6750 is not a very hungry card, and the 7750 is even less so.
     
  14. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have one in my sig rig, not a modular one and I have had no trouble with it at all and I am running a HD6850 on mine. It's a really good power supply considering how cheap the price is on it.
     
  15. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    5
    Be careful because HP and Dell and others sometimes use unusually-sized cases, PSUs, etc. that makes their stuff incompatible with others.