corrupt data on raid array

Smokey0066

Oct 9, 1999
I've got a 1.5TB raid5 array with a Areca 1120 controller running in win 2k3 server.

This past weekend has been quite frustrating for me with random fits of corrupt data. Then a reboot to run chkdsk which seems to fix it and I regain access to my files for a brief time until it repeats.

I've been reading some posts and I keep seeing reference to faulty hardware. I assume one of my drives has some bad sectors or soon to be bad sectors on it. How do I find out which one of my drives in the raid array is bad/going nuts? I'm pretty new to this raid stuff and I do keep back up DVDs of my important data but I would really like to get this file corruption issue resolved so I do not have to reboot and run checkdisk every time I work with files on the system.

I need to spend some time on the box to see if the controller has any features to allow for individual disk checks but if anyone has any other tips/tricks/advice that you don't mind passing along that'd be great.

Smokey0066

Oct 9, 1999
No tips huh?

Well I just got home and yet again I'm having corrupted files. So its running checkdisk at the moment. Once its back up and running I will run seatools and see if that'll be able to scan the drives.

Also is there a SMART utility that will work with the raid controller? or is that only something I can check when I'm in in the menu of the controlleR?

I'm getting frustrated and want to break something. My desktop just died when I got home.. ACK so much to fix..

Fullmetal Chocobo

Moderator<br>Distributed Computing
May 13, 2003
How are you finding out that you have corrupted files? Are you getting errors reported from the RAID controller? Or are they being reported from the OS? If reported from the OS, the RAID controller could be working fine--such as if you have a virus or something.