• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

"Core Temp"

Page 10 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,031
6,001
136
First time trying CoreTemp on my 3900x. It shows really high voltages compared to any other monitoring program. Temps are the same so I'm not concerned. Just seems a little weird.
 

The Coolest

Senior member
Dec 16, 2004
362
38
91
www.alcpu.com
First time trying CoreTemp on my 3900x. It shows really high voltages compared to any other monitoring program. Temps are the same so I'm not concerned. Just seems a little weird.
Note that Core Temp reports VID rather than the actual vcore.
It could be the "observer effect", as the CPU clocks up when Core Temp polls it.
It's also possible that the VID is interpreted incorrectly, since I don't have any documentation for the 3rd gen chips yet.
 

The Coolest

Senior member
Dec 16, 2004
362
38
91
www.alcpu.com
Hmm okay, interesting. I have noticed that the reported VID fluctuates though, which is really weird.
I think that these chips are so dynamic and quick in the way they clock up/down, it's not really that strange.
I'm still trying to decide whether I should get the 3900X or 3950X when that one ships, so I don't have my 3rd gen CPU yet to see how it behaves myself.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,031
6,001
136
I would say get the 3950X. Supplies of the 3900x have been so bad that it's hard to get one of those anyway.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
4,951
788
126
Hey thanks for the update, but the page still lists version 1.14 and I cannot find where to find the 1.15.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
4,951
788
126
Hmm, possibly. Anyway I dled the latest one, 1.15 from lordx's link. Thanks!
 

The Coolest

Senior member
Dec 16, 2004
362
38
91
www.alcpu.com
Version 1.16 - 29th June, 2020

- New: Intel 10th generation CPU support (Cannon/Ice/Comet Lake)
- New: Package Power reading for AMD Zen based CPUs
- New: Very preliminary Intel Tigerlake support
- New: Preliminary AMD Renoir support
- New: AMD Picasso detection
- New: Intel Lakefield detection

- Fix: System hangs during ATI SMBus dump in AIDA64
- Fix: Crash when display DPI changes
- Fix: Crash when opening Settings dialog
- Fix: Main window incorrectly resized when display DPI changes
- Fix: High CPU usage on unsupported Intel CPUs

- Change: Expand available information on unsupported Intel CPUs
- Change: Improve stepping detection on supported Intel CPUs
- Change: Frequency detection changes for Nahelem/Westmere to make it consistent with newer Intel CPUs
 

The Coolest

Senior member
Dec 16, 2004
362
38
91
www.alcpu.com
Version 1.17 - 3rd April, 2021

- New: AMD Zen 3 and Zen 2 APU support
- New: Intel Rocket Lake support
- New: Preliminary Alder Lake support
- New: Very preliminary Meteor Lake support

- Fix: "Unsupported CPU" message when only some cores have HT enabled
- Fix: Epyc Rome/Threadripper 3rd gen Platform detection
- Fix: Gemini Lake platform detection
- Fix: Whiskey Lake codename
- Fix: Incorrect VID reporting on some Celeron/Pentium processors
- Fix: Crash on Intel Banias based (Pentium/Celeron M) processors
- Fix: Turbo multiplier detection on Nehalem/Westmere
- Fix: Bugs related to response to DPI changes
- Fix: VID reporting on some AMD Athlon64 processors

- Change: AMD Bulldozer based processors now display the amount of modules/threads instead of cores/threads
- Change: Improve accuracy of information on unsupported Intel CPUs
 
Last edited:

The Coolest

Senior member
Dec 16, 2004
362
38
91
www.alcpu.com
Thanks.
I'll just say that "support" is a strong word when it comes to Meteor Lake, but if Intel keeps things the same, as it has for years now, it should be able to run and give us basic readings like frequency, VID, temperatures and power consumption.

Banias is only really supported for identification, as it doesn't have the type of built-in thermal sensor Core Temp normally uses. But a user reported that the previous version crashed on his machine, and I found a really old bug.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY