Convertible for business and general use

herm0016

Diamond Member
Feb 26, 2005
making a career change, I have been using a company laptop for 13 years and will need to get my own. I have not looked at anything in a long time.

my new role will be working in the field as an electrician/partner in the business, I would like to have a convertible that I can use to jot stuff down when doing a site inspection or quote, make invoices and have them signed, etc. this will also be my primary for general tasks at home both personal and business. no gaming, no video production or anything like that but light CAD usage. 15 in. screen and available docking station or similar to make it easy to hook up to my desk with 2 24 in monitors. would like to be able to run both monitors with the screen on the laptop at the same time, this has been my desk setup for many years. I'll be running it from my phone as a hotspot some of the time. currently very happy with my HP Zbook 15 in, but its not a convertible. will be running quick books, and probably a bit of CAD software for marking up building drawings, etc.

I would like to prioritize build quality, longevity and price will factor in. time frame is about a month or so. I am open to refurbs/outlet/scratch and dent/used from a reliable source.
I really have no clue as to current build quality and value proposition's in the market.

Thanks for any help.

herm0016

Diamond Member
Feb 26, 2005
looking at asus zenbook pro flip 15 ryzen 7 16gb / 512tb ssd

seems in my reading people are recommending the AMD processors quite a bit in this category. I would really value some feedback on build quality of current 2in1's or whatever you what to call them. any reason to doubt this advice?

the dell insparon seems to be a terrible choice by reviews.

lenova is on the table. looks like they are more in the 14 in category, which I can live with, options here are mostly intel.

sdifox

No Lifer
Sep 30, 2005