Considering this new rig

imported_GenericUser

Jun 19, 2005
Yeah, I've finally gotten around to building myself a new computer for myself. My old computer, although stable, was very inadequate for many things I wanted to do. Gaming was one such reason for my decision to build a new computer. I've been researching my purchase for about 2 months now, and I have based my decisions on the reviews and recomendations I've found on anandtech, silentpcreview, tomshardware, and a few other places. I'm considering the following components for my new computer:

Antec Solution SLK3700-BQE Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 350W Power Supply - Retail
$79.99 + $10 s/h fee at chiefvalue

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400 - Retail
$79 at chiefvalue (free shipping)

Leadtek PX6600GT TDH Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card - Retail
$169 at chiefvalue (free shipping)

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3000BPBOX - Retail
$146 at chiefvalue (free shipping)

EPoX EP-9NPA+Ultra Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
$105 at chiefvalue (free shipping)

Total(after s/h and CA taxes): $630
after stupid CA computer recycling tax: probably ~$650

All the links lead to newegg, but I plan to purchase all the parts from chiefvalue. I do already know that chiefvalue and newegg are basically the same company, but the total price at chiefvalue is quite cheaper than the total price at newegg by about $30. My budget is about $750, but i really can't think of anything I need to upgrade. I really don't need a graphics card higher than a 6600gt, though a vanilla x800 could be a possibility. So, if possible, can you guys give me any comments on my new rig, and tell me what I could replace for minimal price. thanks and enjoy.

CheesePoofs

Diamond Member
Dec 5, 2004