Considering overclocking my Q6600 GO...

mvbighead

Diamond Member
Apr 20, 2009
So what little research I did, most people seem to think this chip should overclock quite easily. What I would like to to check is the remainder of my components, and to see what I should shoot for.

Asus P5Q SE/R MB
RAM is Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 (2 x 2 GB)
Antec Neo Modular PSU 430 watt PSU
XFX 4870

I am still running the stock fan, and assume that would have to change to reach the types of OCs most refer to.

Also, will OC-ing affect the software RAID on my motherboard? I've heard that OC-ing can screw with your PCI timings and throw other things off. I am a total newb to overclocking, but figure if I can get 3 GHz or better out of this CPU, why not. Any help is greatly appreciated.

spdfreak

Mar 6, 2000
The easiest way to get 3GHz out of your Q6600 is to just set the FSB to run at 1333. Since that is a standard FSB ratio you should have no problems with PCI or memory timings. Most MB's let you lock those in the bios anyways. You will probably need a better cooler though. I can run my Q6600 at 2.8 on the stock cooler with no problems but at 3.0 and above, the stock cooler cannot keep up.

jaggerwild

Sep 14, 2007
So what little research I did, most people seem to think this chip should overclock quite easily. What I would like to to check is the remainder of my components, and to see what I should shoot for.

Asus P5Q SE/R MB
RAM is Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 (2 x 2 GB)
Antec Neo Modular PSU 430 watt PSU
XFX 4870

I am still running the stock fan, and assume that would have to change to reach the types of OCs most refer to.

Also, will OC-ing affect the software RAID on my motherboard? I've heard that OC-ing can screw with your PCI timings and throw other things off. I am a total newb to overclocking, but figure if I can get 3 GHz or better out of this CPU, why not. Any help is greatly appreciated.