Computer wont turn on but the motherboard light are still on

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by loverblue, Apr 30, 2004.

  1. loverblue

    loverblue Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i finally got my computer to work. i have an asus k8v se deluxe, with kingston 512 ddr ram, 40 WD gig and nec dvd rw.. i installed windows and i install virus scan anti virus, my friend told me to get the update as soon as i get online but i forgot. so after i setup my dsl and started downloading for a couple of hours, my computer went poof and turned off by ittself . whenever i try to it turn back on the lights on aspire dreamer 2 case will light for a second and then turn off.. the computer will not turn on. i called asus tech and they made disconnect everything except the optical, floopy and disk drives. and it still didnt work.. i thought it was the power supply (350W) just burned on me at first but when i realize that when i turn on the computer and that the motherboard lights come on, i knew it wasnt the power supply although there a sicker on the power supply sayin it p4 ready but i dont know if that a big deal or not since i got an amd athlon 64 3200+.

    any suggestions
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Computer wont turn Forum Date
    Computer won't boot. Dead CPU or Mobo? Motherboards Sep 18, 2017
    Computer won't start, Asus Mini ITX MB Motherboards Sep 14, 2017
    I have to boot my computer twice to get to Windows. Why? (M.2 NVME SSD primary boot drive) Motherboards Aug 25, 2016
    Help computer wont shutdown GA-P35C-DSR3 Motherboards Jul 27, 2007
    Computer wont power up - Is this Motherboard related ? Motherboards Jun 12, 2001

  3. us3rnotfound

    us3rnotfound Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    5,312
    Likes Received:
    2
    It still COULD be the psu, becuase that exact sh!t happened to me, the light was on for sure, but wouldn't turn on.
     
  4. Bar81

    Bar81 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's the motherboard. There are A LOT of QA issues with that board. RMA it.
     
  5. mechBgon

    mechBgon Super Moderator<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    30,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it were me, I'd get a known quality-brand power supply in the 350W+ range regardless of what else may come to light. The "P4-ready" sticker probably is trying to convey that it has a four-pin ATX12V power cable, which I hope you have plugged into the receptacle to the upper-left of the CPU socket :) (the board usually doesn't run at all if it's not, but hey). Anyway, an Enermax, Antec, Sparkle Power or Fortron unit might do well for you. I'm a fan of Antec, partly for the three-year warranty and ease of finding one available at stores, but I have an Enermax too.
     
  6. nadlad786

    nadlad786 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    go tthe same problem except had mine runnign fine for about 8 hrs than i did the start shutdown and went to bed

    woke up next day came down started it and it wud do nothing, no life on monitir no beeps just looks dead for all money, i have modded a few cable sinside but i was dead sure to make the yellow and red wires go back into the 1 and 4 molex connectors and then the black nes dont really matter which holes they go in,,,, any advice pls help