computer won't boot after CMOS reset

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by ProfJohn, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. ProfJohn

    ProfJohn Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK I was working on the following error
    I reset the CMOS to see if that helped and when I try to restart the computer no longer boots.
    It does beep, but nothing afterwards.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Loading...


  3. Fardringle

    Fardringle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    8,102
    Likes Received:
    27
    Since you are having the same problem with three different video cards, I would suspect the problem is with the monitor. Do you have a different monitor that you can test on this computer? Or a different computer that you can test this monitor on?
     
  4. olmer

    olmer Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disconnect screen and remove all parts but the cpu. Reset BIOS properly as in my stock answer below. Power it on it should long beep. (if not faulty board/PSU/CPU in that order ? test PSU with voltmeter, cpu in another system, board may short so try it out of the case before RMAing). If beeps as expected do as described.

    Stock answer: Disconnect power. Reseat CPU and power cables, remove everything else. Check jumpers. Connect only power button. Remove 3V battery and short-circuit the contacts. Press power button. Replace battery. Add one stick of working memory into 1st slot (closest to the CPU). Install graphics/use integrated (if any). Try to boot.
     
  5. ProfJohn

    ProfJohn Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried what you said.

    I still get the normal everything is fine beep, but then nothing else happens.

    Have a new Dell on the way, when it gets here I may try the PSU in this machine to see if that is my problem.

    Otherwise I guess I will look for a cheap MOBO with a good return policy :)
     
  6. Tenet

    Tenet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi ProfJohn,

    The reason Windows won't load is because when the CMOS is cleared, you are prompted next bootup with something like this:

    [F1] for setup
    [F2] to load default settings

    Of course, since your screen is blank you don't get to see this.
    So press F2 and most likely it will boot up and you will be left with your original problem - blank screen.

    You never said if you swapped the monitor as Fardringle suggested. That should have been the next step. Anyone you know have a desktop or laptop you can try the monitor with?
    Or hookup your pc to their monitor?