computer freezes when streaming video

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by Corporate Thug, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Almost every time I try to stream a video, my computer completely freezes resulting in a high pitched squeal from my speakers.

    I just tried streaming a trailers with quicktime from the apple site and my computer froze twice within the first 10 seconds.

    Any ideas what may be causing this?
     
  2. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,408
    Likes Received:
    40
    could be drivers, could be IRQ conflicts between the video card and the network adaptor, could be overclocked/overheating/unstable CPU or GPU, could be bad RAM.

    What's your system config look like, and what OS and video driver revision?

    Can you pop in a DVD and see if playing DVDs causes the problem too?
     
  3. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    DVDs play fine.

    I reset my o/c to stock to try to locate the problem.

    OS is Win 7 RC

    Driver: Cat 9.11

    Also, i get freezing in 3d gaming as well but not nearly as frequently.
     
  4. Schmide

    Schmide Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,020
    Likes Received:
    6
    and the Q9550 @ 3.6 Ghz passes OCT? Do you get freezes at stock?
     
  5. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,408
    Likes Received:
    40
    What happens if you run Furmark, and download a big file off of the internet? Like one of the Win7 ISOs from this post: http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=306860?

    I'm curious if putting the GPU under heavy load, and putting the network under heavy load, but not loading the CPU, will do it. If it doesn't crash, then it may be the CPU that we need to look at.

    Edit: Are you running Flash 10.1 yet? I had trouble with Cat 9.11s crashing my web browser (mozilla firefox), when hitting the commerical break while watching Hulu. Cat 9.12 fixed the issue.

    Try Cat 9.12, if nothing else.
     
    #5 VirtualLarry, Dec 20, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  6. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    It did but with a lot of voltage. It's stock now because stock is running all my apps/games just fine.
     
  7. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem at all downloading large files. I've downloaded steam games that were 6+ gigs. Also downloaded win7 iso without an issue.
     
  8. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,408
    Likes Received:
    40
    But at the same time you were maxing out the GPU??
     
  9. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0

    should I d/l a large file while running rthdribl or something like that?
     
  10. Schmide

    Schmide Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,020
    Likes Received:
    6
    It is at stock voltage and/or speed?

    I wouldn't run furmark for more than 10min unless you have extra fans/cooling on your VRM.
     
  11. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    everything is stock now.
     
  12. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Kakkoii

    Kakkoii Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    applies to all movies and 3d gaming.
     
  15. Kakkoii

    Kakkoii Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did this problem start with the upgrade to Windows 7? Or was it happening on XP or Vista also?
     
  16. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not exactly sure. at the very least, I don't remember it being this frequent, but then again, I just recently got back into heavy gaming.
     
  17. Kakkoii

    Kakkoii Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well you could try installing XP on another drive and seeing if the problem occurs on a fresh installation.
     
  18. SRoode

    SRoode Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    It took a while to do some research for you because you have the wrong Motherboard model in your signature (it's P5E3 Premium, not P53e Premium).

    On Newegg, there appears to be a lot of people with lockup problems. Some because of internet, some because of graphics:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...%28keywords%29

    In reviewing the Bios history on the ASUS site, they have updated their bioses several times to specifically address these issues. Try flashing your bios to the latest version to see if it helps:

    http://usa.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=y0FpG1REOUaqwk2E

    One last thing (may be a long shot). You said you were running a RC of Win 7. This problem may be fixed in the final version.

    Best of luck!
     
  19. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the recommendation! I'm trying to flash right now but it doesn't look like asus has a utility for 64 bit OS
     
  20. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    just flashed using EZ Flash from the bios...easy as cake.

    Now to see if that did the trick!
     
  21. SRoode

    SRoode Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keeping fingers crossed! :)
     
  22. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    back to the drawing board. Freezing within 15 minutes of gameplay.
     
  23. SRoode

    SRoode Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, it went longer this time though. What happens when you stream?

    Have you tried what was suggested above, install the 9.12 Cat Drivers?
     
  24. Corporate Thug

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I'm getting random freezing no matter what I'm doing.
     
  25. MrBorsa

    MrBorsa Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to tend your card and your ram/s and put them again after cleaning them from dust, and every thing well be fine :)