Computer business

meltdown75

Lifer
Nov 17, 2004
Hello everyone.

I was wondering if anyone else here has ever been involved in small business ventures such as computer repairs. I live in a relatively small community and have offered my services to home PC users in the local vicinity. Can anyone share with me the pros and cons of such an undertaking, and any general tips you may have?

So far my customer volume has been extremely light. Also since I'm just starting out, I don't really have any fixed rates ie. how much to charge for a house call or a specific job. I'd also appreciate it if anyone could direct me to a good FAQ etc, although I prefer the opinions here. Thanks

AdamSnow

Diamond Member
Nov 21, 2002
I live in a small town of about 700 people... and unfortunatly, with my father being the fire chief the entire town knows who I am...

I have never had to advertise my computer work, etc... but people are always calling me... and that is why I disliked doing it in a small town environment with no actual "business". People feel that they can call you 24 hours a day... no matter what day. Sunday doesnt matter to most people. They want their day off but dont want to provide anyone else with one...

People also dont expect to pay normal prices when they have you come to their house to fix their computer, or when you have them drop it off and you fix it at your place. Sure, they would feel fine driving an hour and paying a store $100 to fix their machine... but when they come to pick it up for me they get angry that I want $50 to do the job even though it's probably done better, and was certinly done faster then it would have been done at the store...

Just small stuff like that makes it not worth it... but, the money can be good and if I am ever in a need for cash I can just let people know I'm free for a week and I get $200-300 extra per week just doing computer stuff...

It has it's good points and its bad points... just like everything else.

meltdown75