~~~ Computer-building resource thread ~~~

mechBgon

Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
Oct 31, 1999
I was encouraged to post a sticky with computer-building resources, including my computer-building guide (linked below). The hardware in the guide is old :eek: but the core knowledge is mostly there. Post or PM me if you have suggestions or see something that needs fixing. :)

• I have a parts kit picked out, but I want some input from The Collective! Post a new topic in General Hardware, list your proposed rig in detail, and ask for some input.

• I'm a noOb and I want help picking out my parts kit! Go to General Hardware and post a new topic, or check out the existing ones to get some ideas. The General Hardware crew is great at helping you pick out parts kits. :) If you ask for help choosing a parts kit, give them this information:
    1. your budget
    2. what items you need the budget to cover (see lists below)
    3. any particular specs you've already decided upon (e.g. a certain CPU or GPU, or a certain amount of RAM)
    4. what types of uses you want to use the computer for (e.g. gaming, office/student work, video editing, HTPC, or whatever)
Core items
  1. Power supply
  2. Case
  3. Motherboard
  4. CPU
  5. Heatsink/fan for the CPU
  6. Memory
  7. Primary hard drive
  8. Primary optical drive
  9. Video card (unless you?re using onboard video)
  10. Monitor(s) ? see xtknight?s LCD thread :cool:
  11. Mouse/keyboard
  12. Operating System
  13. Snacks

Optional stuff
  1. Additional hard drive(s)
  2. Additional optical drive(s)
  3. Memory-card reader
  4. External hard drive
  5. USB flash drive
  6. Audio card
  7. Video-capture card and/or TV-tuner card
  8. Speakers
  9. Headphones
  10. Printer
  11. Scanner
  12. Graphics tablet
  13. Uninterruptible Power Supply and/or surge supressor
  14. Pizza

Computer-building guides