Company Scorecard

Xsorovan

Oct 14, 2002
I'm an IT manager for a fairly small non-profit and my company has decided that they want a "Scorecard" from each department. When I ask my boss what this is or even looks like I got a kind of vague list of what they want it to DO, and when I asked what that meant he said he simply wants "Key Indicators". *bang head against wall*

Can you guys help break down this Business Buzzword chatter into something I can actually use? I've tried Googleing the phrase for some help but with very little success.

Thanks...

tw1164

Diamond Member
Dec 8, 1999
You need think outside the box after you touched base w/ each of the departments

Feb 6, 2007
You want help with the phrase key indicators? That seems self-evident. Key indicators are just how well a department is living up to its stated objectives. Find out the stated objectives of a particular department (or the job descriptions if it's being done on an individual basis), and restate them as questions with a likert scale response.

Example: If the department has listed "foster communications with potential donors" as a stated objective, put a question on that says: "Has the department fostered communications with potential donors?" And then a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 being "not at all" and 5 being "mad real yo." You could keep it even more vague and just ask if the department met their stated objectives, but that's poor surveying as it tries to address multiple issues within 1 question.

Xsorovan

Oct 14, 2002
Originally posted by: tw1164
You need think outside the box after you touched base w/ each of the departments

You rock. That was great. I'm going to go read some Dilbert comics now to make myself feel better.

Xsorovan

Oct 14, 2002
Originally posted by: Atomic Playboy