Comcast vs a linksys BEFSR41 router.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Locke, Oct 17, 2003.

  1. Locke

    Locke Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bah, I can't seem to get my comcast service working with my router.(I'm in the Northwest) Modem to computer configuration is fine, but no go with the router. (I want to connect two computers) I read through the other thread, but had a few questions. How do I find the Mac address if my NIC, and then how do I clone it? Any other things I can do? I'm not very experienced with networking. Thanks!
     
  2. Schola

    Schola Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    0
    To find the mac address of your nic assuming windows 2000/XP.
    1. Open a command prompt
    2. type ipconfig /alll
    3. the physical address listed is your nics mac address

    To clone it you have to go into the router configuration page
    1. Typically 192.168.1.1
    2. Go to the advanced options page (yellow tab in upper right hand corner)
    3. go to Mac addr. Clone page (6th one from the list in the tabs)
    4. Enter mac address to be cloned.

    I didn't have to do this for my comcast area(Western Michigan), but hopefully what I have told you will help

    Schola

     
  3. bbqweed

    bbqweed Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also for the domain name on the setup tab, type in "comcast.net"...click apply.

    Power down modem and router for about 30 secs. Turn the devices on in the following sequence:

    1)Modem (let the lights somewhat stabilize)
    2)Then, power up router....
    3)Reboot computer...and you should be up and running...hopefully!
     
  4. Locke

    Locke Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys! Did both of your suggestions and I'm up and running =)