Cingular rant...

FP

Diamond Member
Feb 24, 2005
I purchased a Nokia 6620 from Cingular about 2 years ago for around $300. It has served me well over the last 2 years. Last week I received an e-mail from Cingular stating that my SIM card needed to be updated and to come into a local Cingular store and they would give me one. Fair enough...

I went into the Cingular store and the guy handed me my new "upgraded" SIM card. I was actually using my phone as I walked into the store. This is significant because after I put in my new SIM card the phone simply wouldn't work. I was already at home at this point and didn't want to drive back to the store. So I called Cingular and after 1 hour of troubleshooting they basically said the phone is fried and I have two options...

1. I am eligible for an upgrade to a new phone. The phone that would be most like my current phone would cost me $140 to upgrade.

2. File a LockLine insurance claim (I have been paying for the phone insurance for 2 years @ $4/month) and get a refurb'd phone of a different make/model but similar in features. This will cost me $50 to file a claim.

I told them that this is not my fault and that THEIR letter told me I had to upgrade my SIM. My phone was obviously working moments before they gave me my new SIM card. The rep claimed that the SIM could not damage the phone and that it was probably just coincidence.

So ATOT, my question is... Do you think I have a right to get them to pay for my options above?

AMDMaddness

Platinum Member
Sep 1, 2003
Sounds like you went from an old 32K sim to a 64K sim right? There will be no differance it just holds more data for IRDB etc. It sounds like the Sim wasnt set up correctly on your acount or you got a bad sim card (I doubt). Im willing to bet it isnt set up right one way or another. 90% of the telephone reps dont know enough to even check it was set up right. Go back to the store if you have time and lay into them... might even get a "free" phone.