Cinavia only on Blu Rays?

Discussion in 'Audio/Video & Home Theater' started by thestrangebrew1, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. thestrangebrew1

    thestrangebrew1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    24
    Had my first run in with Cinavia on the Arthur Christmas BR disc I bought for my daughter. Ripped it and decided to give it a go on Sat. night with the family. I've read about Cinavia in the past but never encountered it. It was streamed from my ps3 using Playstation MS. I believe the error said something about disabling audio after about 30 mins or so. Just curious, if this is the crap I should expect from purchasing BRs from now on, maybe I'll just buy the reg. dvds and just be "satisfied" with the quality. But is Cinavia embedded in standard DVDs?

    Mods, please move to a more appropriate forum if this isn't the spot. TY
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Cinavia Rays Forum Date
    Looking for Blu-Ray player recommendations Audio/Video & Home Theater Aug 27, 2016
    question on a 3d blu ray player? Audio/Video & Home Theater Mar 29, 2016
    Are there any netflix alternatives to blu ray and DVD(not streaming)? Audio/Video & Home Theater Mar 7, 2016
    Blu Ray Player Died Audio/Video & Home Theater Nov 28, 2015

  3. poofyhairguy

    poofyhairguy Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    14,438
    Likes Received:
    276
    Cinavia is the devil, preventing both piracy and fair use.

    The only way to really avoid it is to avoid devices that look for it- aka the PS3 and all newer Blu Ray players.

    Cinavia is the best reason to build a HTPC to play content.
     
  4. thestrangebrew1

    thestrangebrew1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yea I hear that. I'll have to start looking into cases. I have my server that I guess will have to double as an htpc.
     
  5. smitbret

    smitbret Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you're ripping anyway, you can just invest in media streaming devices much more cheaply than HTPCs. The only one that I am aware of that supports Cinavia is the Netgear Netgeo. In fact, I dumped my PS3 about 9 months ago in favor of a BR drive at my PC and media streaming boxes at all TV locations. There are no DVD or BR players in my house anymore.

    .... Of course that was before the recent October court ruling that said bypassing any form of copy protection was illegal even for personal use. Since then I haven't dreamed of ripping a disc to be stored and streamed. ;)
     
  6. queequeg99

    queequeg99 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, Cinavia has made it into some standard DVDs. Go over to the forums at Slysoft as they maintain a list of impacted disks. I don't know how up to date it is.

    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=41885
     
  7. Golgatha

    Golgatha Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    11,631
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is not even our personal HTPC sacred anymore?

    Here's your alternative - http://www.dvdfab.com/media-player.htm

    Looks like DVD Fab Media Player for ISO rips, VLC Media player for recoded files, and my PS3 for disc playback from now on. It also looks like ArcSoft just lost one more paying customer...namely me. I suppose ArcSoft can thank the AACS board for requiring this in their Bluray playback software.


    TotalMedia Theatre 5.3.1.172 Release Notes

    NEW FEATURES
    01. Windows 8 support
    02. Cinavia support (more info at http://www.cinavia.com)

    BUG FIXES
    01. Fix for NVIDIA systems where 2D Blu-rays launch in 3D mode
    02. Fix AMD 7xxx HD audio bitstreaming no sound issue
    03. Fix a compatibility issue with recent AMD drivers
    04. Fix auto-refresh infinite replay issue on AMD hardware
    05. Fix NVidia HD audio bitstreaming no sound issue
    06. Fix improper mode switching on some NVidia 3D systems

    KNOWN ISSUES
    01. Prometheus blu-ray Bonus Features disc fails to play (BETA hotfix available in seperate thread)
    02. YouTube videos fail to play/download
     
    #6 Golgatha, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  8. irish2u

    irish2u Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This seems to also be effecting mp3 when copying on a cd or dvd disk, Because i got a panasonic dmp bd77 Blu-Ray player for Xmas, burned some music aka: mashups n mixes i had and would not play the disc ;-( scanned and stoped, i was alittle upset so called panasonic to trouble shoot it the reset player but made no mention to Cinavia copy protection or asking me any details, after researching on my own came to the conclusion its Cinavia copy protection stopping it to play,now after reading up i see an article where 50 companies have jumped on board, so whats next, when you update, itunes,pc,mac, or anything else this water mark will be added ?
    Like we don't have more important things in the world to worry about like the greed,sickos destroying our world, we are so backwards on what our priorities really are ;-( So you better keep your older players because i also found out that may other ones have no problems playing whatever...
     
  9. Eug

    Eug Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Messages:
    21,833
    Likes Received:
    105
    WD TV Live does not implement Cinavia, FYI.
     
  10. queequeg99

    queequeg99 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    2
    If the audio you were playing was copied from a Cinavia-enabled BD or DVD disk and played in a Cinavia-enabled player, yes, you'll get the behavior you experienced. The audio watermark is pretty persistent and will come through even on camcorder recordings of movies in a theater.
     
  11. vshah

    vshah Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    16
    does cinavia prevent you from ripping blu-rays? if so i'll have to keep an eye out & avoid discs with it...
     
  12. ImpulsE69

    ImpulsE69 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,432
    Likes Received:
    86
    It doesn't, but the laws apparently do...you know...all that consumer protection and stuff that runs so high in our country these days. I just avoid blu-rays all together. It's a medium that should never have been introduced and shouldn't be supported.

    $1 Red box and Netflix/Hulu streaming and ripping what I already have that's the only way to go. No reason to give them any more money than that. I used to be a audio/videophile, and bought tons of movies, but over time realized, I didn't care enough and streaming under Blu-Ray quality had no impact on my enjoyment.

    I have bought a select few collections that I knew I would watch repeatedly that I really enjoy and knew they had improved picture wise, but otherwise, can do w/o.
     
    #11 ImpulsE69, Mar 1, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  13. KentState

    KentState Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,010
    Likes Received:
    26
    I use DVDFab and WD TV Live and avoid the entire problem.
     
  14. smitbret

    smitbret Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    6
    AnyDVD HD + WDTV Live.... FTW.

    No more Sony in my house, anywhere.
     
  15. queequeg99

    queequeg99 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    2
    +1. Any sort of decoding software (DVDFab or Any DVD HD) plus a non-cinavia enabled player is perfect. I use Media Player Classic on the PC and my old Sage TV HD300 as a set top box. Sure, you don't get menus, but who cares.
     
  16. monkey333

    monkey333 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would imagine my blu ray burner from 2+ years ago is a solid work around, along w my anydvd HD license.