Choosing a good tablet.

benwood

Feb 15, 2004
I'm new to tablet computing and I'm looking at buying one of 4 different tablets: Sero 7 Pro with 8GB, Acer Iconia 8GB A1-810-L615 Tablet, Asus ME-102 Memo Pad with 16GB, Dell Venue 8 with 8 GB of memory. These are all Android tablets. I have no interest in a tablet running Windows and I can't afford a IPad. My price range is approximately $200. I took a look at the Sero 7 Pro at Walmart and while it was nice I think a 7 inch screen looked small for me. The 8 inch tablets' screens seemed better. But I'm willing to be convinced otherwise. The 10 inch tablets screens looked nice as well. Most of the things I'd want to do with a tablet is surf the Web, run a variety of apps and maybe watch a movie or play a game or two.

s44

Diamond Member
Oct 13, 2006
Nexus 7 or Tegra Note 7.

No one should buy another tablet in this price range except the Nook HD+, which sucks for games and thus isn't great for you particularly.

Ravynmagi

Diamond Member
Jun 16, 2007
The Seri 7 Pro is not worth it as it shouldn't be hard to find last year's Nexus 7 2012 around that same price.

Immediately exclude anything made by Acer. 8 inch tablet with 1024x600 resolution display, that's pretty typical of Acer. You don't want that.

If you need an 8 inch table the Dell Venue 8 doesn't look too terrible. I'm uncertain how well the last generation Atom processor handles Android. The 1280x800 resolution isn't good, but it isn't really bad either.

The Nexus 7 2013 might be too small, but it's the best hardware you can get at $200 (Staples has it on sale for $200 right now). 1920x1200 resolution display is very good, it has a fast processor, and the latest stock version of Android.

I'd say go with the Nexus 7 2013. And if you need something larger, save up for an LG G Pad 8.2 (it's $350).

Trombe

Jun 30, 2007