Case suggestions for new X2 rig

VivienM

Jun 26, 2001
Okay, so I'm not a total newb, but it seems that I have a good record of picking bad cases for past builds, so I figured I'd ask before ending up with yet another poor airflow noisy case and frantically asking for cooling advice...

Next rig will probably have:
- AMD Athlon X2 (the folks in the CPU forum convinced me to dump Intels...)
- some NF4 Ultra or maybe SLI motherboard (having trouble picking one)
- 2-3 7200 RPM HDs
- some 80+% efficient PSU (Antec Neo, Seasonic, whatever...)
- 7800GT or similar

So, I want a case with
- front USB
- black/silver (I'd MUCH rather have white, but Creative Labs has decided in favour of black for me... grr...)
- no power supply?
- good airflow
- lots of locations for (quiet) fans
- easy to work with
(no front audio connections, ideally, due to aforementioned Creative Labs, it'd be a bit silly to have ports I can't use)

That Antec P180 looks horribly tempting, but expensive... I was thinking about the Antec TX1088AMG, but saw it at the store, and the colour is just boringly industrial. What other cases are there out there that would do nicely?

Also, is a good aftermarket HSF a wise investment? I won't be OCing, but given that it seems aftermarket socket 939 HSFs need a baseplate, I'd rather not end up with another vacuum cleaner and have to take the whole thing apart to install this baseplate :)

bdoople

Dec 29, 2004
P180. I would look for sales and in the FS/FT forum. I got mine on newegg last week for $115 + 9.99 shipping. Pretty good deal if you ask me.

VivienM

Jun 26, 2001
Originally posted by: bdoople
P180. I would look for sales and in the FS/FT forum. I got mine on newegg last week for $115 + 9.99 shipping. Pretty good deal if you ask me.

We need newegg in this country so bad...

P180 is (CAD)$163 + tax at the nearby B&M computer shops...

1Dark1Sharigan1

Golden Member
Oct 5, 2005