Carbonite vs. JungleDisk Security

eldiablopotato

Oct 28, 2009
Hi,

I'm trying to decide between using Carbonite, or JungleDisk for online backup.

Carbonite: Uses a combination of Blowfish and DES III (Triple DES) encryption.
Jungle Disk: Uses a AES-256 encryption.

Both seem to be pretty secure. My question is, which company offers the most secure method?

Chiefcrowe

Diamond Member
Sep 15, 2008
i'd say Carbonite is more secure judging from the combo encryption methods you mentioned.

also carbonite seems to be better in that it gives you unlimited space (as i understand it)

Last edited:

Tsaar

Apr 15, 2010
I feel I have some experience here.

I have used Carbonite for the past 1.5 years (have roughly 6 months left on the 1 year subscription...for those that do not know Carbonite does not have a monthly subscription model, but 1 year at $55).

I have 210GB of stuff backed up (I had tried Mozy and it took forever to backup). So I went with Carbonite thinking it couldn't be any worse than Mozy, and it also took forever to backup (we are talking probably 6 or more months...probably a similar time to Mozy at that time). Also, to clarify my internet speeds have always been good in my area, so it was not a network bandwidth issue.

Well, in December I moved about 80GB of files around did some renaming. Well Carbonite didn't like this and started backing up those 80GB like they were new files. I thought no big deal, my backup will jump to about 300GB and then after a month Carbonite will remove those "deleted files" after the one-month grace period on removed files then my backup will drop back down to 210GB.