Can't OC Acer comp as theres no options.

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by tweakboy, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    The model is

    Acer EG43M

    which is made by gigabyte actually, Cuz I seen Gigabyte EG43M.

    The BIOS has literally like 1 option.

    Is there any way to flash the BIOS and get all options like OCing options ?
    :awe:
     
  2. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,726
    Likes Received:
    91
    I guess, try it and see!
     
  3. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ya its my cousins rig with a Q8300 which is 2.8Ghz I believe. There is just no BIOS options.
     
  4. Lord XenoTeK

    Lord XenoTeK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most pre-built OEM systems ship with locked BIOS to cover their own arses when it comes to warranty service, etc.

    It's a fail-safe to prevent the end-user from frying the system. Chances are, you will not find a BIOS to flash.
     
  5. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    I see thanks Lord Xeno thanks for that your right.

    Im wondering if you flash it with a gigabyte if it will work and if it will open up options.

    I told him we should build you a system. thats what you get for buying a Acer ... sighs,
     
  6. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    7,842
    Likes Received:
    48
    Hmm, I doubt that is the case, most all OEMs have a way to flash the BIOS, since that is one way they can update the system without people sending the whole machine back. While it may be "locked" they don't perma-lock it.
    In fact, I flashed a friend of a friend's acer computer with a new BIOS and it worked just fine. YMMV. This acer was a socket 754 board.
    Come to think of it, I do recall a jumper on the motherboard that you have to move so you can write to the BIOS.

    Yeah, you can also brick the system, so make sure you have a extra EERPOM or a way to flash the chip again.
     
  7. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,726
    Likes Received:
    91
    I'm sure that you could flash a newer Acer BIOS if one exists, but what TB is asking is if you can cross-flash from Acer to a native Gigabyte BIOS. Probably possible.
     
  8. richierich1212

    richierich1212 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't think you would be able to BSEL mod that processor, unfortunately.
     
Loading...