Can't login to Windows 7 after running Windows Updates. Password incorrect???

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Shawn, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. Shawn

    Shawn Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    32,207
    Likes Received:
    43
    I ran the latest updates today after having it bug me for a few weeks to do updates. After restarting I got the error the user name or password is incorrect.

    I know the password is correct because it was setup to automatically log me in at boot up. But it will no longer accept it and if I try to enter it manually is keeps telling me incorrect password. If I try to log in as administrator is says the administrator account is disabled.

    I tried safe mode and the recovery console and both require a password to login so I can't roll back to a previous version.

    Please help!
     
  2. Icecold

    Icecold Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ophcrack live cd?
     
  3. 0___________0

    0___________0 Senior member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have/can get the Windows installation disc, I believe you can use it to do a system restore by choosing Recovery Options, should be listed once you select that.

    I've also heard of this recommended: http://pogostick.net/~pnh/ntpasswd/ You just make a bootable disc with the iso file on it and make it highest priority in the boot order.
     
  4. sygyzy

    sygyzy Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,001
    Likes Received:
    1
    No offense but are you positive you are typing it in correctly? I have never heard of a windows update or bug that just removes or changes your password. Don't touch type - enter each character manually.
     
  5. Shawn

    Shawn Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    32,207
    Likes Received:
    43
    I was able to do a restore from before the updates using the install cd. Don't know how it got messed up, but the password worked again after I did that. I was able to reinstall the updates, this time without my password getting messed up.

    Very strange indeed.
     
  6. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wierd issue ????
     
  7. ericloewe

    ericloewe Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Definitely the weirdest Windows Update issue I've heard of...
     
  8. kennyja2

    kennyja2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the exact same problem. This tip fixed it for me.

    Start > Run>regsvr32 shgina.dll [enter] – Log off and see if you can now enter your password.
     
  9. wirednuts

    wirednuts Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    1
    ophcrack live cd is awesome
     
  10. Legios

    Legios Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    I once had to use it on a new install when there was debris under a keyboard key and it didnt log the keystroke. I was able to crack the password and then figure out my "A" click didnt register, Twice.
     
  11. holden j caufield

    holden j caufield Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 1999
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've seen this issue on a pc that wasn't properly shutdown. Now I always make a 2nd admin account just in case.
     
  12. narryed

    narryed Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know the reasons why this happended to your computer?
    I suggest you can check the reasons fisrt and then use some programs like Windows Boot Genius to fix which has the 40+ repair tools. You can google its name, you also can use other programs
     
    #12 narryed, Jul 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 9, 2014
  13. ArtShapiro

    ArtShapiro Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    But it the OP can't log on in the first place, and apparently only has the one user account, how can he run the regserver?

    As an aside, I always keep a spare valid local account on all my machines, figuring accounts get mangled more than Windows itself.
     
  14. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,736
    Likes Received:
    49
    I never password protect the account. I have Truecrypt.
     
  15. alkemyst

    alkemyst No Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Messages:
    83,988
    Likes Received:
    0
    ophcrack or a similar Linux boot environment is going to be the easiest.

    You won't get your password, but you can set a password and / or make an account active.

    Once you know how to use it, you can get into locked PC's in under 5 mins.
     
  16. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,736
    Likes Received:
    49
  17. vsglobal

    vsglobal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh how things stay the same. I've been trying to do a restore on a friends Win 7 Home pc and all the updates go fine until after a couple hundred (it's an OLD machine and there have been a million OS updates) when it decides it no longer likes my password. Can't get to a command line or a restore. So I did a complete recovery - twice now. Same thing. I've either got to find someone with a much newer Win 7 (and SPs) or hack the password. I don't understand how to use the .iso file of PNH (Conner's advice above).
     
  18. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,736
    Likes Received:
    49
    Do you know how to burn the ISO to a CD and boot it or are you asking how to use the program?
     
  19. vsglobal

    vsglobal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got a command prompt but getting message "The subsystem needed to support the image type is not present"
    so now I'm guessing I need a bootable Linux CD?
     
  20. vsglobal

    vsglobal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Burnt the ISO to a disk but system won't boot from it.

    FWIW, after entering the password, the "Welcome" displays from 1-2 seconds, then goes to bad password. It's like the password is OK but something in the processing is whacked.
     
    #20 vsglobal, Nov 30, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014
  21. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,736
    Likes Received:
    49
    Sounds like a total mess up. I've used that program beofre, although on XP and it worked like a charm. If your getting the welcome screen and then a bad password something is messed up in the registry or you have malware. There is a bitdefender live CD to scan the computer.
     
  22. HOSED

    HOSED Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    good points !!, I guess you would need to enable the Adminstrator account in this situation http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...-windows/168ab087-31df-4348-a2e2-8156602ef403
     
  23. vsglobal

    vsglobal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, maybe this is a hack. I'll do the recovery and create TWO admin accounts before I start doing all(!) the updates. Maybe this way only one will get whacked and I can use the "answers.microsoft..." ruse to get back in.
    Maybe
     
  24. MagnusTheBrewer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,026
    Likes Received:
    10
    Safe mode with command prompt
    The admin account in safe mode has no password by default
    Type "cd c:\windows\system32" and enter.
    Type "net user Administrator /active:yes" and enter.
    Type "shutdown -r" and enter to restart your computer.
    You will now be able to use a temp admin account to change the password on your other account. It most likely was corrupted during a restart after the updates.
     
  25. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,736
    Likes Received:
    49
    There was a smiley in there. I fixed it.

    Safe mode with command prompt
    The admin account in safe mode has no password by default
    Type "cd c:\windows\system32" and enter.
    Type "net user Administrator /active:yes" and enter.
    Type "shutdown -r" and enter to restart your computer.
    You will now be able to use a temp admin account to change the password on your other account. It most likely was corrupted during a restart after the updates