Can you REALLY know if a catalytic converter is bad...

Pandasaurus

Aug 19, 2012
By temperature?

I was watching some videos on Youtube (learning how to replace a knock sensor, yay!), and happened across a video ( <Link! ) claiming that you can find out if your catalytic converter is bad by checking the temperature (using an IR thermometer) of the cat (close to the O2 sensor) and the pipe before (close to the engine) and after the cat. Video says pre-cat should be ~300F,a good cat should be ~500F.

If you've been reading my previous threads, you'll know why this interests me. And it's not only because I'm a total car noob. If you haven't: The reason this interests me is because I have a P0420 (cat efficiency below threshold, yay!), which from my reading says that could either mean the cat(s) is/are bad, or one or both O2 sensors could be bad. The vehicle ('02 Impreza 2.5TS, almost 208K miles) was recently in the shop for some unrelated repairs, and the shop said it's for sure the cats, but I'm not sure how they came to that conclusion, since we didn't ask them to do anything related, and didn't pay them for any diagnostics.

So, after a quick drive to the store and back (about 4 miles round trip, mostly highway), I grabbed the trusty Harbor Freight IR Thermometer, crawled under the car, and checked... Closest spot I can reach to the engine was ~350-400F, closest I could get to the O2 sensor was ~550F, post-cat was ~350-400F.

Anyone have any knowledge/experience with these sorts of things? I'd really rather my O2 sensors were bad than replace one or both cats, since I can get both sensors for about the same as one cat. lol

Vdubchaos

Lifer
Nov 11, 2009
Of course the shop will tell you it's the Cat. It's the hardest/most work intensive work they can charge you for. Cats are NOT cheap.

No clue on the temperature thing, never really heard of it.