Can you put a remote starter in a car with a manual transmission?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by mugs, Jun 20, 2004.

  1. mugs

    mugs Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    48,895
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was in a store the other day and saw a remote starter that was pretty cheap, but it was for automatic transmissions only. Then it occured to me that you probably can't use a remote starter with a manual transmission, because you can't start the car without pressing the clutch pedal. Right?
     
  2. AgaBoogaBoo

    AgaBoogaBoo Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    26,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I never thought about that... I have no clue to your question, but it's a good question :D
     
  3. bleeb

    bleeb Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Turkish

    Turkish Lifer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you can but its a lot harder to install, thus costly..
     
  5. BCYL

    BCYL Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Messages:
    7,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can... I have a friend who has a remote starter in a manual car... Having the clutch in to start the car is just a safety precaution, mechanically it's not necessary... Just dont put your car in gear if you plan to remote start it...
     
  6. Xionide

    Xionide Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hell my car does not need the pedal pressed. Lucky me.

    -Xionide
     
  7. spacejamz

    spacejamz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    2
    nevermind....just saw some remote starters that can do manual transmissions...

    GOOGLE is your friend....
     
  8. Shawn

    Shawn Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    32,207
    Likes Received:
    43
    haha, that would suck
     
  9. mugs

    mugs Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    48,895
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I thought about that, I figured there might be a way to electronically trick the car into believing the clutch was in.
     
  10. BCYL

    BCYL Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Messages:
    7,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe that's how it's done... the remote starter tricks the car into thinking the clutch is in, then starts the car...
     
  11. KingNothing

    KingNothing Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a switch or something that activates when you put the clutch in which allows the car to start. I know because I had mine replaced. It can be bypassed if you want, thus allowing a remote starter to work. Better be careful to leave your car in neutral though. :p
     
  12. BullyCanadian

    BullyCanadian Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup that is correct, my friend has a manual civic with a remote starter, and for it he just need to leave it in neutral when off and parked.
     
  13. gunblade

    gunblade Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    My friend installed his himself and bypassed the clutch. It has been running well for over three years.
     
  14. Turkish

    Turkish Lifer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm maybe I should consider it... sucks to go outside to start my car during winter...
     
  15. randomlinh

    randomlinh Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    20,855
    Likes Received:
    1
    heh, i bought my camry used... i found out it had remote start unintentionally. The previous owner never said anything about it. there's a sticker by the battery warning not to remove the battery.. i ignored it because i figured if it was there, the owner would have said something.

    Since they were the 2nd owner, I guess they never knew about it either. hehe. unfortunately, i only have one remote, so if it breaks, i lose my alarm... i want it replaced, but i think it'll cost a bit since i have no clue how this one is installed...
     
  16. Kroze

    Kroze Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can by-pass the clutch. under the clutch pedal, there's a cable connected to it. just wire them together and complete the circuit. Now the car can be start without pressing the clutch.

    and now wire your remote starter just like you would do it in an automatic transmission.

    bypassing the clutch is very simple. i've done it to 2 of my cars (92 nissan 300zx, 90 Toyota Supraturbo)

    just put your head down and look at your clutch pedal. there's a wire that's connected to it. strip them and connect them together.