Can you answer two quick questions please?

Pinecallado

Dec 23, 2012
This is my first build and almost everything is finish but I hit two major roadblocks. I also have a cooler master elite 120 mini itx by the way.

First, I can't figure out how to install the I/O sheild. Here's a picture of it.

goL5Rzo.jpg

I'm scared I will have to completely unscrew the motherboard out and put the I/o sheild on the inside of the case and screw the motherboard back in :\
Maybe it will be easier just to put the I/o shield on and then tape it with ducktape. But it will look sloppy.

Secondly, I can't get my Hard Drive to go into the hard drive bay! I have a WD blue caviar HD. Its 3.5 inches. In the video I looked at where a guy was installing it in the same case it just slid right in!
I was going to put it in the dvd bay but that isn't as secure as the HD bay,

Here's a picture of it

7t5vY23.jpg

Please help!

Pinecallado

Dec 23, 2012
Okay everyone so I figured out how to install the i/o shield. I actually had to take out the motherboard and put the i/o sheild into place from the inside!
Now I just have to figure out how to slide the hd into the bay!

(Building computers truly is A LOT harder then what many of you people make it out to be. So much for "Its just like putting together lego blocks" :D)

Steltek

Diamond Member
Mar 29, 2001
Your case will hold three 3.5" hard drives in the hard drive bay. Check your mounting hardware again - they should have sent you several rails that snap into the screw holes on the sides of the hard drives which you use to slide the drives into the bay. Something must be hanging that is preventing you from sliding the drives all the way back in.

Your first machine is always the hardest to build. After that, it comes a lot easier.