Can someone please explain this to me?

fuzzybabybunny

Moderator<br>Digital & Video Cameras
Jan 2, 2006
There have been a couple of times when I'm studying for a test in 4 hours or so and I want to keep myself awake. I'm generally kinda alert at this time. I decide to drink a cup of strong coffee or something similar, and within 10 minutes I'm literally forcing myself to stay awake. This general grogginess of mind and body lasts for the whole day... even into the test...

Oblivionaire

Jul 29, 2006
You're dehydrated and or hypoglycemic.

Disclaimer: I'm not a doc nor did I stay at a holiday inn express last night.

I have gone through both though.

You need to have your blood sugar tested and you can test your blood pressure at most pharmacies like CVS. They also sell bp testing units you can take home. If your blood pressure is low it could be dehydration. BTW caffeine and alcohol are known diuretics meaning they will dehydrate you.

Perknose

Forum Director & Omnipotent Overlord
Forum Director
Oct 9, 1999
Consuming a nice cuppa java applet no equal buzzymaybebunny?

Why mess around? Snort methamphetamine and you'll be hopping around the ol' lettuce patch in no time! :laugh:

Mill

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
I'm the same way except it doesn't last until the next day. Caffeine while driving or while tired seems to work for about 5 minutes and then I start dozing off wherever I am.

Believe it or not, but Nicotine can do the same thing. When I first quit smoking I had too much gum to fast, and I felt extremely tired. I slept for about 4 hours and then woke up thinking WTF?

NanoStuff

Banned
Mar 23, 2006
Does that to some people, I'm one of those people. Can't explain it, but I've heard it may be related to low blood glucose levels. My caloric intake has always been low so it all adds up as far as that goes. Some people's metabolism however just naturally keeps the blood glucose lower than average, which is not necessarily a bad thing, arguably a good thing.