Can I use WHS2011 as an HTPC OS?

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by thestrangebrew1, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. thestrangebrew1

    thestrangebrew1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    32
    So can I? Using my PS3 to stream and ran into Cinavia so I'd like to just use my existing server as an htpc. Will this cause problems? Looking into using xbmc as well.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - WHS2011 HTPC Forum Date
    Completely Re-think the HTPC Home Theater PCs Friday at 3:25 PM
    Razer Turret for HTPC use Home Theater PCs Mar 12, 2017
    LibreElec 8.0 issues with my HTPC Home Theater PCs Mar 9, 2017
    HTPC: Cord Cutting & DVR Home Theater PCs Feb 26, 2017

  3. zerogear

    zerogear Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    7
    Maybe run it virtualized will minimize any impact on the server stability?
     
  4. nextJin

    nextJin Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually don't know, interested to find out myself.
     
  5. thestrangebrew1

    thestrangebrew1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    32
    I don't even know what this means lol. I may tinker around with this this wknd sometime just to see how it works. I'm pretty sure there's an xbmc add on for it, but I guess if I need to, I'll install win7. Anyone running 8 on an htpc?
     
  6. stevech

    stevech Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    WHS now a days is worse that rocks in both shoes.
     
  7. assassin24

    assassin24 HTPC Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why? I think WHS 2011 is a great and inexpensive OS for a server.
     
  8. el-Capitan

    el-Capitan Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    1
    WHS 2011 is great, especially when considering its only $50.

    I'd be surprised if it is suitable for an HTPC though. Would expect many multimedia features not supported or lacking compatibility.

    Maybe you can consider upgrading the WHS to Windows 8?
     
  9. nusyo

    nusyo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried WHS for my HTPC (not 2011 though) and like el-Capitan said, it lacks in multimedia features (can't install codecs, or limited support).

    As far as I know when you run Win7 in a virtual environment (virtualpc) you loose hardware acceleration (GPU)
     
  10. assassin24

    assassin24 HTPC Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its often $40 with code or coupon which makes it even better for a server OS since its basically based off Win7 x64.
     
  11. thestrangebrew1

    thestrangebrew1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    32
    I thought about doing this and then I realized that I have a 64bit W7 license currently not in use since I upgraded my main rig to w8. So I'll just use that to slap into an htpc build I'm considering. I'll be posting a new thread on some questions I have about some existing hardware and parts.