Question Can I repair a damaged partition? suspected MFT failure.

boing

Sep 13, 2001
I have a Samsung SSD 850 Evo which suddenly won't boot, it claims windows can't be found and loading it onto another computer keeps telling me the drive needs to be formatted. I'm not an expert but I'm thinking it may be an MFT failure, is there any way to recover the drive contents or repair the MFT?

Jul 27, 2020
How old is the SSD? What is your typical workload? Running any databases or other write-intensive workloads? Was the PC shutdown uncleanly (hard power off)?

boing

Sep 13, 2001
The drive is from 2015, workload on that machine is light these days, e-mail/internet browsing etc but it used to be a 3d render machine util 2019. It wouldn't power down from the start button yesterday (just unresponsice after clicking 'switch off') and I ran a disk repair and sys file check both of which claimed to have found and fixed errors, had to do a hard power off a couple of times. Last thing at night yetsreday it was hanging endlessly when it was powering down so I switched off at the power again.

Worst case scenario if it can't be repaired is there are a few key files I need to recover (outlook express .pst file, firefox bookmarks, google earth .kmz file) so if I can get a good file recovery software I'll live with that but preferably I'd like to just repair the damage if possible.

Jul 27, 2020