Can commercial airplanes 'dump fuel'?

tommywishbone

Platinum Member
May 11, 2005
I think the fuel tanks are in the wings and the engines are close by, sounds dangerous to pour fuel so close to jet engines. How does a 'fuel dump' work and can all commercial airlines do it? Thanks.

ZeroNine8

Oct 16, 2003
it's quite easy to run a pipe from the fuel tanks to wherever a safe release location might be, whether at the wingtips or at the rear of the plane, etc. The only thing you've got to make sure of is that you don't release it in front of some ignition source, which is pretty easy to do at 300+ mph.

Gibsons

Lifer
Aug 14, 2001
Originally posted by: Markbnj
Yes, there is a Jet Blue A320 dumping fuel out off the California coast right now.

burning it off by circling, not dumping. Apparently the A320s don't have the ability to dump, unlike most other airliners (what I've heard, I'm no expert).

ScottMac

Moderator<br>Networking<br>Elite member
Mar 19, 2001
Many airplanes over gross weight of 12, 500 poinds have restrictions relating to "Take Off Weight" and "Landing Weight."

Most commercial aircraft (and military aircraft) have some facility for dumping fuel ... generally to cover emergency situations where they would otherwise have to land heavier than the designed Max landing weight.

Most commercial aircraft have many fuel tanks located all over the aircraft: one or more tanks in the wings, and in two or three locations in the belly. The fuel is pumped from tank to tank throughout the flight to help keep the plane in trim.

Dumping fuel is discouraged, but it's not really that big of a deal. At those speeds, it's pretty much atomized and diluted in the clear air (same thing if they dumped the bathroom tanks).

There was a trick the F111 drivers used to do .... they dump some fuel in the clouds, then hit the afterburner to ignite it .... it was alledged to be something to behold ... an amazing sight ..... scares the hell out of a pursuer too.

FWIW

Scott