Toby Williams

Oct 10, 2017
Hi, I know I'm an absolute noob, but I was wondering if you’d be able to put me together some sort of shopping list based on what I need as I am by no way an expert on networking. I bought a reel of cat6a cable to wire a new property. I have probably 20 cables coming out of the wall and they need terminating for a network switch. I was wondering what connectors and tools I need to do the job. On the other end, faceplates would be needed and some of these rooms have two cables coming to the same box (so two ports would be needed on the faceplate). I also have a couple of cat 5e cables that will also need terminating. Will these need different tools or connectors, and if so, which ones would I need to buy. Thank you!

Alpha One Seven

Golden Member
Sep 11, 2017
The tools needed depend on the connectors used, you can see what is available at Amazon and go from there.

You might want to use wireless, it's a lot less messy and a lot more portable than wired. Wired homes have been pretty much phased out over time by advances in wireless tech. You will be adding no longer wanted tech to a house and will not add any value to it for the time and money spent.

And I thought this was a thread about getting rid of cable TV which I did years ago. :)

Reactions: Toby Williams

Toby Williams

Oct 10, 2017
The tools needed depend on the connectors used, you can see what is available at Amazon and go from there.

You might want to use wireless, it's a lot less messy and a lot more portable than wired. Wired homes have been pretty much phased out over time by advances in wireless tech. You will be adding no longer wanted tech to a house and will not add any value to it for the time and money spent.

And I thought this was a thread about getting rid of cable TV which I did years ago. :)