C300 Stuttering

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by pakotlar, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. pakotlar

    pakotlar Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    Have a 64GB C300, stutters when playing media files. Latest AHCI drivers, running off T61 (ICH8M), with updated SATA II bios. Tried turning off AHCI power management, but none of the common wisdom for SSD performance during "idling" situations seems to apply. Sometimes the stutters are very long lived. Up to 30 seconds. Any ideas?
     
  2. pakotlar

    pakotlar Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to clarify this is clearly an SSD I/O issue. While HDD is relatively idle (like during movie playback) hard drive led will randomly go solid for up to a minute. Happened today while watching netflix. It's absolutely unfortunate, because the SSD is pretty nice. The problems did not manifest with a Sandforce based SSD, although I did not do extensive testing on my Sandforce drive since it perma-BSOD'd on me about a week after install (boot drive). The problem is supposed to be down to AHCI power management, but I've tried disabling it using regedit and so far the problem has not disappeared.

    No one has had this issue? 002 firmware btw. 006 introduces random i/o stutters for people.
     
  3. adamantinepiggy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try this: Go to Device Manager, double-click on the C300. In the new device properties window that pops up, click on the Policies tab and ENABLE "enable write caching on this device" AND ENABLE "turn off windows write-cache flushing ..." Now reboot.

    Has seemed to work to fix stuttering issues with 06 firmware and certain Intel AHCI drivers.
     
  4. pakotlar

    pakotlar Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will give it a shot again, although I did have that setting enabled before, with no difference, though that may have been before I messed with the AHCI power settings.
     
  5. Rubycon

    Rubycon Madame President

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    17,289
    Likes Received:
    127
  6. Arcadio

    Arcadio Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    4
    Damn.. now I got this problem with my brand new C300.. I guess it's my punishment for not waiting for the C400 to come out.

    ...starts looking for solutions and trying them out....
     
  7. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you changed the power management settings on your computer to always on?

    Some laptops come with proprietary programs and some use the OS's program but they must be set to always on.
     
  8. Burner27

    Burner27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    3,957
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 2 x 128GB C300s in my desktop have the 0006 FW on them and I have NEVER experienced any stuttering. I would try any of the suggestions here but moving to 0006 FW may also fix your issues.
     
  9. Arcadio

    Arcadio Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    4
    My C300 is brand new, with the 0006 FW and all. It still stutters once in a while. Event Viewer shows "The device, \Device\Ide\iaStor0, did not respond within the timeout period."
     
  10. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's your computer set-up?
     
  11. Arcadio

    Arcadio Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    4
    Asus P8P67 Deluxe Motherboard
    Intel Core i7 2600k Processor, not overclocked
    8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600
    Crucial C300 128GB with 0006 FW
    WD Caviar Black 2TB
    Gigabyte 5770 Graphics Card
    ASUS DVD-RW Drive
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
    Antec P183 V3 Case

    I tried that. It didn't work.
     
    #12 Arcadio, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  12. Burner27

    Burner27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    3,957
    Likes Received:
    0

    Try disabling C6 reporting in the BIOS and report back.
     
    #13 Burner27, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  13. Arcadio

    Arcadio Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    4
    That didn't fix the problem... within 2 minutes of booting up after disabling C6, the computer froze for a few seconds. I checked the Event Viewer, and there it was:

    10 instances of the error:

    "The device, \Device\Ide\iaStor0, did not respond within the timeout period."
     
  14. adamantinepiggy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try the built-in MSACHI driver rather than the Intel AHCI driver.. It's the most compatible driver and the performance difference is small.
     
  15. Burner27

    Burner27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    3,957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn,

    I meant disable C3 reporting. Sorry, my bad.
     
  16. finbarqs

    finbarqs Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's times like this that makes me worried about going to anything but intel!
     
  17. Martimus

    Martimus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just purchased a C300 and a P67 MB, so I will probably have this same issue :/

    I hate worrying about crap like this, I just want all my stuff to work, especially after spending so much for all of it.
     
  18. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fresh OS install?

    Enable write caching and turn off write cache buffer in the device manager?

    SATA3 or SATA6 Intel ports?
     
  19. Burner27

    Burner27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    3,957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try disabling C3 reporting.
     
  20. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you do that?
     
  21. Burner27

    Burner27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    3,957
    Likes Received:
    0

    It's in the BIOS. I don't remember under which heading to look under.
     
  22. zod96

    zod96 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think its luck of the draw. I have the C300 and a P67 motherboard. Mine stuttered and I too get that error in event viewer. I did the fix posted at crucial forums and its been all good since. For some the fix works and for others it doesn't yet we have almost the same hardware go figure...
     
  23. taltamir

    taltamir Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    13,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    the c400 uses the same exact controller, only with 25nm NAND instead of 34nm NAND, and slightly tweaked firmware. It probably would have fared the same in whatever situation you are in, and would be more likely to have issues due to being new and less widely tested.

    do you have TRIM?
    The C300 and C400 on a non TRIM capable machine drop to unacceptably bad performance when hammered with random writes. Anandtech m4 review mentioned that and said they will stutter without TRIM.
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4253/the-crucial-m4-micron-c400-ssd-review/2

    Also, did you update firmware?
     
    #24 taltamir, Mar 31, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  24. Old Hippie

    Old Hippie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    There has to be something in common with the hardware or settings and the drives that aren't functioning correctly.

    I've had no problems with my 256GB C300 on an Intel ICH10 or LSI 9240 set-ups.

    There has to be something in common.
     
Loading...