Build with Ryzen 2400G - problem

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#1
Hi'

I'm a bit stuck with a build that I finished based on the Ryzen 5 2400G. The problem is that it do not post. When I turn it on it spins the case fan and CPU fan without posting and then stops and reboots - and this cycle will continue until I turn it off. I tried connecting both with HDMI & VGA to two monitors, a barebone boot, shift of RAM blocks, checked all connections (gone through the error-shooting guide here and on Tom's HW) a BIOS reset - but no luck.

My build is:
  • MB: ASRock AB350M Pro4
  • CPU: Ryzen 5 2400G
  • PSU: Corsair TX650w
  • RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 DC 16GB
  • SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
  • Case: Cooler Master MasterBox Lite 3.1
Help would be appreciated.

Gr. from Denmark
 

daveybrat

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Jan 31, 2000
5,009
77
126
#2
That's because your motherboard does not support the 2400G right out of the box. You have to update the bios first before you'll get post.
 

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
1,268
81
106
#3
That's because your motherboard does not support the 2400G right out of the box. You have to update the bios first before you'll get post.
1. Ask the retailer for BIOS update
2. Borrow Ryzen 1xxx CPU or Bristol Ridge APU for updating the BIOS
3. Ask AMD for boot kit
 

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#4

UsandThem

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
10,717
493
136
#5
Does this mean that I have to replace CPU temporarily and therefore also replace thermal pasta etc.?
Yes. See the options available to you listed by ao_ika_red.
 

bbhaag

Diamond Member
Jul 2, 2011
4,171
81
126
#6
I went through a similar situation back in 2012 but it was with an Intel G530 cpu and an MSI P67 board. Ao_ika_reds suggestions are good but you might as well scratch the first two options out. If you can get AMD to send you their tool kit that would be awesome but be prepared to wait.
FWIW I ended up buying an i3-2100 for my P67 board because it was on the QVL. Not ideal I know but it is what I had to do when I was in your situation.
 

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
1,268
81
106
#7
If you can get AMD to send you their tool kit that would be awesome but be prepared to wait.
One of our member @XavierMace got lucky with AMD's bootkit. But, if OP unable to do what I've suggested, the cheapest option is buying Brystol Ridge's Athlon x4 950 or A6-9500 APU.
 

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#8
Hi'
Thanks - I'm more enlightened now. It does seem to be a bit bothersome for the customers. I've contacted vendor who I bought the parts from one week ago and if that is not a viable option I'll try AMD and bootkit.
Since I have to remove stock cooler again - do you suggest that I stick with that for the 2. time of installing CPU or do you suggest an alternative option for OC at a later time?
 

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
1,268
81
106
#9
This article from Tom's is a good one.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-raven-ridge-thermal-power-benchmarking,5464.html
I believe any 125W+ class HSF (like CM 212, Cryorig R7, Thermalright Truespirit 120, Noctua NH-U12S, etc) should be more than enough to help its OC performance.
But honestly, the IGP performance will only go just as far. If you really want better graphic experience I suggest looking for discrete GPU (I know it's a bad time to looking for one, but still).
 
Last edited:

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#10
Hi' ao_ika_red
I will look into those. And I do intend for a discrete GPU when prizes has stabilized again.
 

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#11
Hi' - I just wanted to follow-up with another question/observation. I godt my bios updated for Board: ASRock AB350M Pro4. But to my grief I find out that I will not support two monitors, namely my Dells U2515 and U2518. So I'm back to finding a new MB with more than one Display port or HDMI. DVIs are of no use.
Which Motherboard would you suggest?
 

XavierMace

Diamond Member
Apr 20, 2013
4,307
6
126
#12
Hi' - I just wanted to follow-up with another question/observation. I godt my bios updated for Board: ASRock AB350M Pro4. But to my grief I find out that I will not support two monitors, namely my Dells U2515 and U2518. So I'm back to finding a new MB with more than one Display port or HDMI. DVIs are of no use.
Which Motherboard would you suggest?
How have you determined it won't support two monitors?
 

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#13
By testing, writing ASRock, and saw these posts as well: 1 and 2.
 

XavierMace

Diamond Member
Apr 20, 2013
4,307
6
126
#14
By testing, writing ASRock, and saw these posts as well: 1 and 2.
I didn't realize that board didn't have Display Port on it. You need a board with both HDMI and Display Port. I quick look shows surprisingly few AM4 boards have both. My GA-AB350N-Gaming WIFI has both, although it would be a bit of a waste to put in ITX board in your large case. The MSI X370 Xpower Gaming Titanium has both but that board is stupid expensive.
 

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#15
Thanks for the reply. No, me neither. Well, I'm searching and it seems like MSI B350M MORTAR is an option. But suggestions are more than welcome.
 

XavierMace

Diamond Member
Apr 20, 2013
4,307
6
126
#16
Honestly, if you don't need more than 1 PCIe slot, I'd probably just go with the ITX option. The layout of the Gigabyte board is pretty crappy but you get onboard WiFi and USB 3.1 Gen 2. Plus the HDMI and Display Port you need. Just try to make sure all your power cables and front panel headers will reach to the top of your case first.
 

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#17
Thanks. I'm currently looking into whether it is a limitation on the 2400g - nothings seems quite conclusive on this.
 

gool

Junior Member
Jan 13, 2007
15
0
66
#18
I now have the build up and running. No success with dual monitor yet, though. Seems to be a driver problem as well. Under the AMD Radeon(TM) RX Vega 11 Graphic Properties I get: "This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12) If you want to use this device, you will need to disable one of the other devices on this system."
Any suggestions?
 
Aug 25, 2001
43,598
537
126
#19
If it's giving you an error about "free resources", try going into BIOS/UEFI and adjusting the amount of video RAM allocated to the iGPU portion. It may need to be increased.
 

XavierMace

Diamond Member
Apr 20, 2013
4,307
6
126
#20
I still owe @VirtualLarry some 4K testing on my 2200G which I didn't get around to doing this weekend but will try to do tomorrow. I can test dual monitors at the same time. Tag me or shoot me a PM if I don't post anything tomorrow about it.
 

XavierMace

Diamond Member
Apr 20, 2013
4,307
6
126
#21
@VirtualLarry @gool

As requested:

4K60p YCbCr 4:4:4 via Display Port
'
4K60p YCbCr 4:4:4 via HDMI

HDMI Confirmation Continued

Dual Monitors, 4K on DisplayPort, 1080p on HDMI

Driver/OS Info


Motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-AB350N-Gaming WIFI running the F22b BIOS. Displays used for testing are the Acer S277K (4K) and an HP x2401 (1080p). Not sure on the brand/spec of the Display Port cable, HDMI cable is an Amazon Basics 6ft 18Gbps cable.
 

Karmeck

Junior Member
Mar 3, 2019
1
0
6
#22
@VirtualLarry @gool

As requested:

4K60p YCbCr 4:4:4 via Display Port
'
4K60p YCbCr 4:4:4 via HDMI

HDMI Confirmation Continued

Dual Monitors, 4K on DisplayPort, 1080p on HDMI

Driver/OS Info


Motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-AB350N-Gaming WIFI running the F22b BIOS. Displays used for testing are the Acer S277K (4K) and an HP x2401 (1080p). Not sure on the brand/spec of the Display Port cable, HDMI cable is an Amazon Basics 6ft 18Gbps cable.
Thanks for sharing this. My questions is. Can you do 4:4:4 10bit over display port?

I'm thinking of using a 2400g in a asrock deskmini A300 connected to my Samsung u32h850u
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS