Question Build VS Buy with current GPU market.

zanemoseley

Feb 27, 2011
I've been building PC's since 2000 but not built one in a while. Need to upgrade my old i5 2500k gaming rig so I can go back and hit some of the FPS's I've missed over the last few years.

Normally I would go straight for building one to get the best bang for the buck but I'm way behind on the tech and keep hearing the GPU cards are selling for close to what a pre built gaming PC costs due to crypto mining.. My budget is $1500 - $2k, Intel and Geforce preferred.

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
If you go prebuilt, avoid proprietary hardware from Dell or HP. Buy from an S.I. like Newegg ABS so you can later upgrade or replace parts with off the shelf hardware if wanted/needed. And you are spot on, that the GPU is what is making a prebuilt a viable alternative now.

If you want to see how DIY stacks up, use https://pcpartpicker.com/ They have everything you need including the parts list and price calculator. It will even warn you of potential incompatibilities. Post back here if you need help with any of it.

Reactions: VirtualLarry

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
If you go prebuilt, avoid proprietary hardware from Dell or HP. Buy from an S.I. like Newegg ABS so you can later upgrade or replace parts with off the shelf hardware if wanted/needed.
This! That's what I also told a friend of mine fairly recently, avoid Dell / HP / Lenovo proprietary rigs, get something like a Newegg ABS or MicroCenter PowerSpec system, that are at least upgradable using standard parts.

zanemoseley

Feb 27, 2011
The ABS units look pretty nice but have questionable items like case, PSU and CPU cooler. Is there a pre-built brand that you would recommend that use higher quality components.

UsandThem

Elite Member
May 4, 2000